Vilnius Part Two: If you're reading this? - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

October 7, 2013

Vilnius Part Two: If you're reading this?

I returned to Vilnius and spent a few more days staying at Virginija's apartment. I really enjoyed my time with her. We had some very interesting talks and I learnt a lot about what it was really like to live through the Soviet occupation. I was surprised when she told me that life was actually better back then in many ways. But in many ways it wasn't of course. If you wanted a car, for example, you couldn't just buy one, you had to apply and go on a list and then in two or three years, you would get your car. This applied to many things. If you wanted a new sofa you had to wait two or three years. Life was comfortable but it was restricted. But she said everyone used to get together in the kitchens and talk about hating the Soviets. Now everyone is in their own apartment on Facebook, or watching TV, and that aspect of life has died. And she told me about how Lithuania gained its independence, when people went off to protest in the city. Her husband went and she didn't know if he would come back. "We were all willing to die" she said, and her eyes lit up as she said it, remembering. "We all went off to protest. Everyone was willing to die for independence!" And then a few moments later she added. "Well, I had to stay here and look after the children of course."

Ah yes, it was a very fine place for me to stay. Beforehand I was worried that Virginija might mother me too much, but she didn't, she was just a very fine host. She didn't even complain when I came home at six in the morning one time (there was a couchsurfing meeting, and then we went on to another bar, and then there was a very beautiful girl who looked like a model (who by the way still hasn't called me, Emilija, if you're reading this?), and then I had to remember where I'd left my bike, and then I had to cycle back in the dark, and then I had to find the right tower block out of a whole city of them.)

I was rather sad to be leaving, but rather happy to hear that my Belarus visa had been approved. I picked it up from the travel agents on Monday afternoon, said final farewells to Virginija and finally headed out of the city. After cycling forty kilometres on the Monday night I found a place to camp for a few hours. Only for a few hours mind you, because Tuesday was going to have to be epic.

Goodbye Vilnius tower blocks, goodbye!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 6,751 km (4,192 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonYup, still reading.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Chris PountneyTo Scott AndersonHappy to hear that Scott! Thanks!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago