The race across Sweden: I said no chewing - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2013

The race across Sweden: I said no chewing

What comes after eight? Oh yeah, seven
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had to go pretty fast back across Sweden to make my boat on time. In fact I rode a total of 754 kilometres in five days after Lillehammer, which is kind of nuts. The good thing was it was flat and it was sunny the whole time. Sweden still had the whole red and yellow colour scheme going on, I didn't see anymore moose, I did talk to some goats. In fact, I was thinking about my friend who is a teacher when I cycled past a field of goats and I decided that I could be a teacher and that I would pretend the goats were my class for practice. I addressed the class and they looked at me. "Good afternoon kids (get it?)" I said "I am Mr Pountney, your teacher for today. Erm excuse me, are you paying attention back there? No chewing in class please. I said no chewing. Are you listening to me? Right, can you all face the front? Today we are going to be learning about... I said no chewing. Don't run away. Are you defecating in my classroom?!"

I'm going to think about my future career choices a bit more before I decide.

The red and yellow colour scheme extends to the signposts. Here, I assume, is what a moose will look like after you hit it with your car
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've got no idea either
Heart 0 Comment 0

As you can tell, cycling 754 kilometres in five days is not good for the sanity. Anyway, I'm pretty sure this ride across Sweden will just be a musical montage in the movie too, so here it is:

Somebody is definitely getting fired after that crap. Who the hell is directing this movie anyway?

At the end of the five days I reached Stockholm and had a few hours in the evening to look around. It is a nice city. Nice is the word. It describes Scandanavia very well. Everything is nice in Scandanavia. It is not extraordinary, but it is nice. The best bit about Stockholm was the old town which is on an island in the middle of the city, and has lots of narrow streets with people and no traffic, like in Barcelona or Havana, without quite as much soul, but still very, well, nice.

My ferry was leaving early the next morning, so I found the ferry terminal in the dark and slept for just a few hours on a park bench.

Pretty random moment when these horse drawn carts wheeled out in front of me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Segway polo match on the way into Stockholm
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stockholm being nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Narrow pedestrian streets, a bit like Barcelona but without the prostitutes and pickpockets character
Heart 0 Comment 0

24/08/13 - 143km (104km in Sweden)

25/08/13 - 140km

26/08/13 - 172km

27/08/13 - 132km

28/08/13 - 12km (4km in Sweden)

Today's ride: 591 km (367 miles)
Total: 4,339 km (2,695 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0