The longest ride: Part two - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

October 8, 2013

The longest ride: Part two

Country Number Fourteen - PL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was getting pretty tired by the time I crossed into Poland, but I was still making good progress. I was surprised to find a very fine cycle path for the first few kilometres of Poland, although this turned out to be mostly an attempt at creating a good first impression rather than something that I would find repeated in most of the country.

The segregated bicycle lane that welcomed me to Poland
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was able to find some really great quiet roads through the forest though, which provided me with some excellent cycling to keep me motivated as my bicycle computer ticked over towards the 200 kilometres mark. That and the never ending sound of Katy Perry's angelic voice repeating her inspiring mantra in my head of course.

Enjoying the woods
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was dark again by the time I reached the magical 216 kilometres that I was aiming for. Once again cycling in pitch black I had another strange encounter with an animal. This time it was actually in the road in front of me and as I approached it it ran along just ahead of me in the road. The funny thing about this was that I simply could not work out what the animal was. It seemed too afraid to be a dog, it was too small to be a cow or a unicorn, I think maybe it was a sheep. Anyway, the day was a record breaker, but I saw an opportunity to try for something else unique - the possibility to cycle 100 kilometres in two different countries in one day. Having ridden 124 kilometres in Lithuania I kept going until 224 kilometres, and then did another three kilometres looking for a good place to camp. I was out of the woods and into open fields by now and there was nowhere good so I settled for camping in a field in a village. It was already very late and I would have to be up early the next morning anyway.

I wanted to take a picture to prove that I really did cycle 227 kilometres. Unfortunately thanks to the flash all I managed to prove was that I cycled 27 kilometres!
Heart 1 Comment 0

08/10/13 - 227km (103km in Poland)

09/10/13 - 52km (25km in Poland)

Today's ride: 128 km (79 miles)
Total: 7,003 km (4,349 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0