No way Norway: It doesn't rain like this in Canada - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2013

No way Norway: It doesn't rain like this in Canada

Beyond Oslo the climbing really started. I wanted to go out west but the way the mountains were meant I had to go north and then south quite a considerable distance to get over one pass before I could even begin to head west. The north part was on the main road and there was a lot of heavy traffic. Fortunately there was a bike lane most of the way. And then I was on much quieter roads and really getting into the wilderness, taking routes through forests which felt like they must stretch on forever. I love that feeling of being in the middle of it and looking at the trees and knowing they stretch out in all directions for thousands of square kilometres. With this feeling and the smell of pine in the air I really felt like I could be in Canada.

This view is on the downhill looking west after the climb away from Oslo
Heart 2 Comment 0

Late in the day I started following another road which would lead me up a high pass and the waterfalls started. The road was naturally following a river and a few times there were really nice waterfalls. I stared at the beauty and power of the falling water and the vast forests around and thought of how raw and natural and untamed all this was. Well, the waterfalls had been used to power mills in the past, but those buildings were mostly old and in ruins now, while the water just keeps on running, as it has for millennia, never stopping for a second.

First waterfall
Heart 2 Comment 0
View from near the top of another and the forest beyond
Heart 1 Comment 0
And the same waterfall from the side
Heart 3 Comment 0

That night I actually set up camp in a field just next to another small set of waterfalls which were actually more like rapids, but I figured the running water would make for a nice soothing sound to sleep to. I was camped next to a little village and as I was setting up camp a big grass cutting machine drove along tidying up the side of the road. Nothing unusual in that and I brushed my teeth and went to sleep. But then at about three in the morning I was awoken by the sound of a large piece of machinery. I was worried that it may be a combine harvester come to swallow me whole so I quickly looked outside and saw the same grass cutting machine driving along on the road, crossing the bridge over the river, coming back. It was scraping its cutters on the tarmac and making a horrible noise as well. This was really a strange thing. I have no idea why this happened. My only theory is that the grass cutting machine is owned by the village drunk who uses it to get to and from his local watering hole.

Up until this incident I had only positive things to say about this wonderful country. The next day, however, was not a good one. To put it bluntly, it rained very hard, all friggin day. And because I had such a stupid schedule, I couldn't not cycle, so I rode through it and just ignored the fact that it was so wet that I could squeeze my gloves into a fist every few minutes and a stream of water would flow out like I was ringing out a wet towel. It was probably the wettest day I have ever cycled through. And to make matters worse, it felt like I was cycling uphill the whole day as well. Over the first pass and only a short downhill and then another long slow climb, waiting for another downhill which never arrived. I was not in love with Norway on this day.

Best thing about this rain day was seeing this sawmill and how it works, the power from a surprisingly small stream of diverted water could power the saw to cut through these giant logs. Very interesting and also, five minutes out of the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the saw mill was this building. Lots of buildings in Norway have grass roofs, but this one was growing a forest. I wondered how big these trees would get if they were left alone, whether they would eventually grow roots that reach the ground like tentacles and swallow the cabin up.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Taking a picture of rain is hard, but you get the idea
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltIt's pretty with the mist, at least!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Finally, after battling through 130 kilometres I was rewarded by an end to the rain, a nice sunset from my campsite with this view. Definitely worth it!
Heart 3 Comment 0

15/08/13 - 110km

16/08/13 - 133km

Today's ride: 243 km (151 miles)
Total: 2,954 km (1,834 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0