More notes on Siberia: In picture form - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2014

More notes on Siberia: In picture form

The people in Siberia were very friendly. As in the west of Russia I saw people selling blueberries picked from the forest (has it really been almost a year?) But unlike in the west they were very nice and said hello and these guys even gave me a bag for free
Heart 2 Comment 0
People drink a lot of vodka in Siberia
Heart 2 Comment 0
The houses were all small and made of wood, and had brightly coloured window frames and picket fences and looked lovely
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is what happens when the boy who is supposed to be watching the cows gets an I-phone
Heart 0 Comment 0
My drive train looks like that because it had started skipping badly in Almaty. By taking links out of the chain I kept it working for another 3,500 kilometres. By this point the chain was very short!
Heart 1 Comment 0
They ran out of 5's
Heart 0 Comment 0
A pair of Italians that had ridden from Italy in less than three weeks (I was already in Siberia when they started their trip!) They were an odd couple, the woman being tall and beautiful and the man not so much. But they were very nice.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the town of Tulun I checked my emails again and found one from John and Bev, the British motorcyclists. They told me they had seen another cyclist like me, a Czech guy, going my way and about 100 kilometres ahead of me. But that was before I did all the long days and I assumed I must have passed him...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 135 km (84 miles)
Total: 26,078 km (16,194 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0