I'm not going to write about Iran: And never will! - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

April 10, 2014

I'm not going to write about Iran: And never will!

Okay, relax, I'm only joking. Of course I'm going to write about Iran. I'm sure you want to hear about it after I just built it up like that (or maybe you don't, I don't know you) but here is the thing - I didn't write my journal during my time in Iran. This was partly because of paranoia about being accused of being a spy, and partly because I couldn't be bothered.

But don't despair, my plan was, and still is, to write about Iran after the event, in the style of the chapter of a book. Once I have done that I will publish it here and then I will ask you, dear faithful reader, for your honest feedback. This is essentially to determine if I can write in this style and if I might have a book in me yet.

Unfortuntely I don't think I will have the time to sit down and write the 'Iran Chapter' until I get to Bishkek at the end of June Australia, so until then I am going to write a brief summary of Iran, and then continue the narrative in Turkmenistan. And I do recommend that you read Turkmenistan, it's one hell of a story.

A BRIEF SUMMARY OF IRAN

I cycled across Iran.

Some people have been complaining that this brief summary is too brief, so here is a picture too:

It sums things up nicely
Heart 2 Comment 0

2022 Update: I did eventually get around to writing about my experiences in Iran in the style of a book, when I wrote an actual book. It's called No Wrong Turns and you can buy it here, if you want: 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/No-Wrong-Turns-Cycling-Sydney-ebook/dp/B06XPX21FV

Today's ride: 2,308 km (1,433 miles)
Total: 18,599 km (11,550 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0