A steppe too far: Nothing much to report - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2014

A steppe too far: Nothing much to report

Well I found out that my new tent was waterproof at least. I managed to get out of town and into a cluster of trees, and get the tent up before the thunderstorm really hit. When it did it was one of the most fearsome and scary storms that I'd ever camped out in, but I only experienced about ten seconds of it because I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow ball of clothes, and when I woke up it was all over.

Absolutely nothing happened the next day, or the day after that.

Sorry if these pictures are all starting to look the same
Heart 2 Comment 0
Oh no, wait, you're right, that is just the same picture. Sorry.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ah, sorry, I've done it again... no wait! Its a different picture, look, the number changed a bit!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I don't think you will believe how happy I was, what a moment of exhirilation and joy it was, when the style of post changed a bit!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I did make up a game to pass the time. The purpose being to link the names of countries together to make a chain, where the last two letters of the first country had to be the opening two letters of the next. For example:

FranCE - CEntral African RepublIC - ICeland

This was not as easy as it may at first appear, and the best I managed was four. I thought about it for a long time, and it seemed this was the highest possible score, and I congratulated myself proudly:

Burkino Faso - South Africa - Cape Verde - Denmark

But then, out of nowhere, in a moment of inspiration I thought of a chain of five! This was surely the maximum possible!

Moldova - Vanuatu - Turkmenistan - Angola - Laos

If you per-chance find yourself playing this game for whatever reason, perhaps on a long train journey, or while trapped in a lift, or perhaps during a stint in solitary confinement for a crime you didn't commit, or any other situation where you might be bored enough to, and you do manage to beat this score of five, do please be good enough to keep it to yourself, won't you?

Nature can make anything beautiful!
Heart 2 Comment 0

29/07/14 - 123km

30/07/14 - 139km

Today's ride: 262 km (163 miles)
Total: 23,646 km (14,684 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0