A day in pictures: Cycling through beautiful scenery - The Really Long Way Round - CycleBlaze

February 11, 2014

A day in pictures: Cycling through beautiful scenery

When I woke up I was greeted by beautiful clear skies and I was excited by what I hoped was going to be another glorious day in the mountains. They say that a picture is worth a thousand words and so here is my 15,168 word essay on the events of this day:

I had another five kilometres to climb before the top of the pass - 1180 metres above sea level and a great place for target practice
Heart 1 Comment 0
After a big downhill, more climbing through pine forests
Heart 2 Comment 0
At the top of the second pass after a very long climb, I was disappointed after seven kilometres of downhill and nineteen of uphill to find myself not very much higher
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downhill again through the mountain scenery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at a big peak
Heart 1 Comment 0
These springs made sure I always had plenty of water - here I was getting out of the pine forests...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...and into more desert-like terrain
Heart 0 Comment 0
The rock formations grew more interesting
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here's another
Heart 0 Comment 0
The scenery began to become a little surreal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here I found someone (aliens? God? Mother Nature? Ibrahim?) had built a pyramid next to the road
Heart 2 Comment 0
The truck gives a good scale
Heart 0 Comment 0
This pointy red rock was overhanging the power lines rather ominously
Heart 1 Comment 0
Such a wonderful day of varied and amazing scenery
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the end of the day, looking back over Nallıhan
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 13,528 km (8,401 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0