Unable to Resist BBQ - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2013

Unable to Resist BBQ

Bismark, North Dakota

I took a last look at Salem Sue this morning while making coffee and letting the sun dry the dew off my tent.  Like all of the REAL cows I've seen over the last few weeks, Sue just stared straight ahead without a hint of emotion. 

More oil cars. On the ridge above the oil cars are some cows and cowboys made of steel. Steel cows are just as stoic as cows made of concrete and fiberglass and cows made of flesh and blood.
Heart 1 Comment 2
George HallI took the same picture - the locals told me that "Buddy Kahl was a local rodeo cowboy." Although you didn't always follow the Northern Tier, your path crossed it enough that it brings back a lot of memories when reading your journal.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallNow you know how I felt the whole time I was following your Northern Tier journey. I was constantly thinking, "hey, I remember that" or "wow, I stayed in that town" or "darn, I missed seeing that even though I must have ridden right by it" or "I wonder why I didn't take a picture of that." I'm glad I got to meet you guys in person while you were on that trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Highway 139, a designated "North Dakota Scenic Byway," didn't have much scenery, but it did take me straight to the city of Mandan.  While using a computer at Mandan's very nice library, I heard the thumping bass lines of live music.  Indeed, there was a festival going on.  Mandan Grilling Days had a collection of food vendors that featured such barbequed treats as pork ribs, pulled pork sandwiches, brisket, hamburgers, hot dogs, and corn on the cob.  There was also live music and adult beverages.

During the time I was there the musical performers were all local acts, including a twelve-year-old singer/guitarist who had recently won a prize for being the "Best Young Act" at the North Dakota State Fair up in Minot.  A local guy who apparently recognized me as a stranger to town approached me and said I should stick around until evening.  He said a BIG crowd was expected for tonight's entertainment.  "We've got a rock band coming all the way from Fargo."

The Mandan Days Grilling Festival
Heart 1 Comment 0

I hung around there for about an hour and a half and that is something I have rarely done when I've been on the road.  I'm usually too anxious to get to my destination for the night.  In this case, my destination was just across the Missouri River in Bismarck, so I had some time to spare.  I enjoyed a half-rack of baby back ribs and some baked beans, and I think it was the best meal I've had since Spokane.  With some regret that I would never see that great unnamed rock band from the big city of Fargo, I went back to my bike and moved on.

I made a quick stop at the Broken Spoke Bicycle Shop which operated out of a guy's garage in a residential section of Bismarck.  His shop looked like it specialized in BMX bikes.  It was kind of cool, but the owner wasn't very friendly.  Not rude, but not friendly either.  Maybe I just showed up at an inconvenient time.

Being the largest city since Spokane, I treated myself to a king-sized bed at the LaQuinta Inn.  Very nice room.  Good view.  Just blocks from the weird state capitol building.

Editorially speaking, this is the least state capitol building-like state capitol building I've ever seen. It looks more like a high-rise apartment building.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,407 miles (2,264 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0