The Worldly Traveler - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2013

The Worldly Traveler

Roy Lake State Park, South Dakota

In the past few weeks I have been to some of the world's most famous and exotic cities:  Zurich, The Havre, Glasgow, Lisbon, Harlem, Nome, and today I added Havana to the list.  I've also been to a Kremlin and a Malta.  As famous as those places are, I had no idea they were all located in Montana and North Dakota.  One learns a lot about the world on a bike trip.

All morning I had been traveling south and then a couple of miles past Havana I entered another Dakota--the SOUTH version.  I was pleased with my decision to add a small corner of a new state to my itinerary.  Within the first mile I spotted a pair of deer.  South Dakota's roads were good and the people were friendly.

Great faces. Great places. Same scenery.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Roy Lake State Park has a very, very nice campground.  My site is right on Roy Lake, which is a real lake, not a pond or wetland or swamp.  It is surprisingly clear and blue, it has some depth, and big green trees surround it.  As I am writing this, there are a few canoes out on the lake and I would like to shout out a little advice to a few of the paddlers.  I won't actually do it, of course, but here is what I should tell them:  "Hey, people! Your voices carry a long way on a quiet lake.  You might THINK you are far from shore and nobody will hear your burping and farting and silly jokes, or your intimate conversations, or your trashing somebody you don't like, or your theories on where to catch the most fish.  You'd be wrong."

 

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 1,655 miles (2,663 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0