The Honey Hub - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2013

The Honey Hub

Gackle, North Dakota

Hot and humid.

Until I arrived in the little town of Gackle, those three words were going to be my entire post for today.  However, I could not let my stay at the Honey Hub of Gackle go unmentioned.  The following is what I wrote in the Honey Hub's Guestbook:

  • "I've only been here for 1/2 hour and this is already my favorite North Dakota stop.  It's 94-degrees out there and I have no idea what the humidity is.  Here I am in relatively luxurious conditions and, I might add, quite unexpectedly.  I saw the sign at the intersection, called the number, and saved myself having to set up camp, God knows where, in this heat.  Laundry, shower, air-conditioning, beds, refrigerator, treats, Wi-Fi, restaurant advice, couch, restroom--THIS IS THE HILTON HOTEL OF MY ADVENTURE!  Thank you, Millers."

Basically, Jason Miller and his family have opened up the basement of their home, hostel-style, for cyclists who are weary from the long distances between towns of any size.  Gackle itself has only 350 people, yet it's the biggest town in this 110-mile stretch of Highway 44.

A great place to spend a night.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 1,518 miles (2,443 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0