Notes From a Flatlander Trying to Prepare For His First Bike Experience in the Mountains - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2013

Notes From a Flatlander Trying to Prepare For His First Bike Experience in the Mountains

This is my second official day of retirement and, I must say, IT'S AWESOME!  On each of my two days of the leisure life I went out on long bike rides, without guilt, seeking out the biggest hills in the area.  I need to do some serious climbing because I am worried about the first 80 miles out of Seattle, going from sea level up into the Cascade Mountains.  Unfortunately, I know of no 30-mile sustained uphill rides in Minnesota or Wisconsin.  Nevertheless, I'll keep training the best I can.  And yes, 50 miles on a bike is easier, more enjoyable, and certainly less stressful than a ten hour day in the paint store.

Also, last week I got some welcome news from my son, Aaron.  He has accepted my invitation to ride the first five days with me from Seattle to Spokane.  At first he was only going to ride a day or two and then turn around.  Next he said he couldn't ride at all.  Then it was a "maybe."  Then a "no."  But now he is back on board and I think his presence will add a whole new dimension to the first leg of this trip.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0