Mr. Happy-Go-Lucky Gets Cocky - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2013

Mr. Happy-Go-Lucky Gets Cocky

Beach, North Dakota

There was plenty of badlands beauty and isolation between Glendive and Wibaux.  I encountered one car in twelve miles.  The road was so sparsely traveled that I started getting a little cocky with my bike.  I pedaled right down the center of my lane, sometimes with no hands on the handlebars and sometimes while tossing almonds into my mouth with no hands on the handlebars.

Have you ever seen the men and women who perform horse-riding tricks at circuses and rodeos?   You know how they hop off the saddle, land on the ground on the left side of the horse while holding onto the saddle, then immediately hop up and over the horse to the right side, and then hop back into the saddle--all in one smooth maneuver?  This morning I felt like doing a bicycle version of that.  But I didn't.

Montana's next door neighbor.
Heart 1 Comment 0

More headwinds!!!  I just had to mention that, but that's the end of the whining for today.  I am in a new state and I feel rejuvenated.  I didn't even mind the 30+ miles of Interstate-94 I had to endure.  With a ten-foot wide shoulder, even constant traffic doesn't bother me.

Tomorrow is going to be an easy one.  I will be cycling less than 20 miles in order to hike and fully enjoy the badlands of the Little Missouri National Grasslands.  It may be the last interesting and unusual landscape I'll be seeing.

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,241 miles (1,997 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0