Fighting Back Tears - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2013

Fighting Back Tears

Hastings, Minnesota

Being that Minneapolis is considered one of the most bicycle-friendly cities in the U.S., I shouldn't have been surprised that I was able to traverse the city using nothing but paved bike trails:  The Luce Line Metro Trail, The Theodore Wirth Memorial Trail, The Midtown Greenway (recently named the nation's best urban bike route), The West River Trail, The Minnehaha Falls Park Trail, and the Fort Snelling State Park Trail.  Then it was just a hot 20 mile ramble through some familiar backroads.  I slowed down to savor the last hour of this unbelievably rewarding journey.  I conjured up a bunch of memorable moments from the trip.  There were many.  And then it was done.

This picture commemorates not only the end of my tour, but also the first beard I have ever grown.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,937 miles (3,117 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonWelcome home!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonThanks. It does almost feel like I've just completed a tour. Often I really felt like I was in the moment and I couldn't wait to see what happened to me next.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago