F. Scott Fitzgerald and David Lynch - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2013

F. Scott Fitzgerald and David Lynch

Chester, Montana

It was another perfect day for riding a bike--clear blue skies, slight tailwind, temperatures in the mid-70's, mostly good roads, no problems at all . . . except for the fact that all that perfection adds up to one very boring blog post.

Highway 2 across northern Montana closely parallels the Burlington Northern railroad tracks.  I like seeing those long trains come by nearly every half hour.  It's an impressive sight when you can get an unbroken view of a 1/2-mile long train racing across the plains after it has passed.  One of those trains consisted of at least a hundred identical black tanker cars carrying, I assume, oil.

A half-mile of brand new oil cars.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The other thing that provided a break in the relative monotony of the landscape were three tall buttes to the north that were visible for most of the day.  Whenever I got bored of looking straight ahead, I would just turn my gaze to the left and I would see the shadowy, ever-present figures of West Butte, Gold Butte, and Mt. Brown rising up from the flat plains 30 miles away.  The buttes became like a recurring theme for me.  They were my "eyes of Dr. T.J. Eckleburg" or the swaying traffic lights on the TV show Twin Peaks.

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 826 miles (1,329 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0