Define "Bike" - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2013

Define "Bike"

When people learn about my early retirement they invariably ask, "what are you going to do?"  Since I have no other plans, I tell them about my bike ride and they say they would like to do something similar.  Some form of the following exchange ensues:

"What kind of bike do you ride?" They ask.  "A Harley?"

"No, I just bought a Surly Long Haul Trucker," I answer.

"A WHAT?"

"It's a bicycle, not a motorcycle."

Then the conversation takes an entirely different tone.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Paul Mulvey“Then the conversation takes an entirely different tone.”

Or ends entirely....

I’ve shared this same reaction. Cheers!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gregory GarceauHi Paul,

Yes, I'm sure it's a pretty common misunderstanding between cyclists and motorists.

On one of my tours I went into a truck stop in Iowa and noticed they had showers and a lounge for truckers only. I thought of going into the lounge, claiming to be a trucker, and taking a nap. I imagined a conversation something like this:

TRUCK DRIVER: So what kind of truck do you drive?
ME: I drive a Long Haul Trucker.
TRUCK DRIVER: Um, is that made by Peterbilt?
ME: No, it's made by a company you probably never heard of, but it's sturdy, comfortable, and is capable of hauling some pretty heavy loads over long distances.
TRUCK DRIVER: Really? I should look into getting one of those. Can we go have a look at it?
ME: Um, that probably wouldn't be a good idea. I gotta go.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago