A Cuckoo On Lake Koocanusa - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2013

A Cuckoo On Lake Koocanusa

McGillivray Campground

One day last month I was telling a friend about my upcoming bike trip and he remarked, "I could never do a trip like that primarily because I'm a social person and I couldn't handle the loneliness."

"I've never had a problem being alone with myself," I responded.  Then I tried to explain how I'm also OK with being among people too, but I was looking forward to being NON-social for a while.  Call it anti-social if you want to, but my job required me to be social for more than 33 years.  Now I am FREE!

Today, my third day on my own, a little doubt began to creep in.  To counteract the aloneness, I began having strange conversations with myself.  For example, I would make a comment to about the scenery--out loud--and I would reply to myself, "yes indeed, that IS a nice waterfall cascading down the mountainside."

Or, I would see a billboard advertising a local business.  I would read the sign and announce, "Oh, there's Bill's Body Shop."

Then I would respond with a rip on the name.  "No, that's Bill's Shoddy Body Shop."

"More like JILL'S Shoddy Body Shop," I'd say, trying to one-up myself.

"Still Bill's and Frilly Jill's Shoddy Body Shop."

"Still Jill's Funny Bunny Hop."

"Chill Wills' Funny Belly Flop."

It would go on for a long, long time.  Anyway, that whole exchange should give my readers a good look into the high level of intellectual activity going on inside my gigantic brain.

I resupplied in the town of Libby and then followed the Adventure Cycling Route on what is called "The Long Haul Road."  That little up and down, twist and turn road reminded me of a New England country lane, except that it was a 15-mile country lane--with mountains--and only a dozen cars.

Next came a big climb up toward the Libby Dam which forms the 50-mile long Lake Koocanusa.  My goal was the MacGillivray Campground on the lake's west side.

The Kootenai River below the Libby Dam.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Andrea BrownMy home river, the beautiful Kootenai.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauHello Andrea,

You were very lucky to have the Kootenai as your home river. It really is beautiful. I wish I would have taken more pictures of it. There were many good views of the river west of Libby too, but back then I rarely stopped pedaling solely to take a picture.

Greg
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
The Libby Dam was quite impressive, but not so impressive that I went out of my way to visit its visitor center. Still, it IS impressive, for a dam, though not as impressive as the mountains around it. On the other hand, think about how impressive the river would be without the dam.
Heart 0 Comment 0

What a huge disappointment the MacGillivray Campground turned out to be.  The sites were exposed and overused and just plain shabby.

BUT WAIT A MINUTE!  Just as I was about to settle for one of those crappy sites, I saw a sign that had a symbol for "Walk-in tent sites."

Walk-in only campsites make me happy.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I rode my bike up the trail that led to the walk-in tent sites and . . . my spirits were uplifted--and that's not just the Jim Beam talking.  Up and over a small ridge, a beautiful view of Lake Koocanusa was revealed and I had the whole area to myself.  Blessed with good fortune, I am perfectly content for another evening.

Signs like this pique my defiance.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 500 miles (805 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0