A Bad Influence - Greg's Questionable Judgement - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2013

A Bad Influence

Willmar, Minnesota

"Let's go over to McDonald's for some breakfast," Dan suggested once we got up and moving around for the day.  I was tempted, but I turned down the offer.  I usually don't eat breakfast anyway, but also I am determined to maintain my record of avoiding all burger, chicken, and taco fast food joints.  In fact, I haven't eaten at any chain restaurant of any kind other than two Subway sandwiches.  Come to think of it, I haven't eaten in very many restaurants at all, but when I have, I've had pretty good luck with local bars and cafes.

While I started packing my stuff into my panniers, Dan loaded his bike on top of his car.  He will be driving to our next overnight town, Willmar, where he'll start cycling back toward me.  It's a weird system, but it seems to be the best way for him to get in a few days of riding with me.

"Do you want to throw some of your gear in the car?" He asked when he was ready to drive off.

It was another tempting offer.  "No, I don't think so," I replied half-heartedly.  "It WOULD be nice to to ride unburdened for a day, but I guess I just want to preserve the integrity of my self-supported tour."

"Okay, it's up to you," he said.

"BUT . . . as you know . . . I HAVE already cheated," I added after further consideration. "It was back in Washington  when I accepted that ride from the psycho killers after Aaron's bike broke down."

"We-e-e-e-l-l-l-l-l-l-l, I wasn't going to bring that up but . . ."

I laughed.  "Thanks anyway, but I'll just go ahead and haul my own stuff."

On a day the weather forecasters were predicting to be nearly 100-degrees, our short route turned out to be ridiculously easy.  We arrived at the Willmar Americ-Inn at 1:30 p.m.  It was only the second motel reservation I'd made on this trip.  Knowing that check-in time wasn't for another hour and a half, I told Dan of my secret plan to play on their sympathy in order to get into our room early.

"Just let ME do all the talking," I joked, as we entered the lobby.

"Hi!  How can I help you?" asked the gal at the front desk whose jeans hung a little too low in back, revealing a bit more of her backside than we needed to see.  

"Hi.  I have a reservation for tonight," I began, "and we got into town a little early.  Would it be possible for a couple of overheated and weary bicyclists to get an early check-in?"  I held my breath waiting for a negative response.

"OH SURE!  No problem!" she answered cheerfully.

It was too easy.  I should have asked her for food.  Or money.

It's art! I call it "Farm Framed By Motel Curtains."
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,806 miles (2,906 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0