What to take?: I'm leaving in less than a week! - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

What to take?: I'm leaving in less than a week!

As I write this, I'm in a hotel room in Halifax, on the opposite coast from home. In Canada, that's a very long way (4 time zones). The conference started yesterday, and after it finishes on Wednesday, I fly home. It's a total of 7 hours in the air plus another hour-and-a-half to change planes in Calgary. There are no direct flights between Halifax and Vancouver. The important part, though, is that I leave for my bike trip on Saturday evening. I have to work Friday and maybe Thursday, which I had originally intended to take off to get ready, so I might have very little time to organize and pack. At least I got my bike in its case last weekend.

So, what to take? Considerations include the fact that I'll be riding through mountains: I'll have to carry everything I bring up any hills. Also, in the mountains, the weather could do anything. That's the case at home (British Columbia or BC), where it snowed "at higher elevations" last week. Two weeks ago it was record-setting highs. I have no information to tell me that the Pyrenees will be any different. So, layers to suit summer in the mountains.

Bike
Co-Motion Pangea (with couplers and 165 42-32-24 crankset)
Tubus Tara front and Logo rear racks supporting Ortlieb Back-Roller Plus and Sport-Packer Plus panniers
Ortlieb Ultimate6 handlebar bag on a Rixen Kaul Klick Fix handlebar adapter (superior to Ortlieb's, which is mounted on my around-town bike)
Ortlieb map case
Garmin 810 bike computer loaded with openfietsmap for the areas I plan to ride through
Axiom Rainrunner Reflex fenders
Waterbottles and cages (2)
Click-Stand
Helmet
Front and rear lights

Camping
MSR Hubba tent and footprint
Exped Downmat UL7
Western Mountaineering Ultralite sleeping bag
Fleece pillowcase (fits my light down jacket)
Alite Monarch chair*
Camp towel and washcloth
Camp clothesline and pegs
Headlamp

Clothes (packed in MEC packing cubes and sil stuff sacks)
Merino buff
Cycling cap
Baseball cap
Showers Pass rain jacket with detachable hood
Light down jacket
Microfleece jacket
Merino t-shirts (3 short-sleeve, 1 sleeveless)
Merino arm warmers**
Sun sleeves
Fingerless bike gloves
Warm bike gloves
Cycling liner shorts (2)
Outer bike shorts (2)
Merino leg warmers**
Wind/water resistant cycling pants
SPD bike shoes
Waterproof shoe covers
Walking sandals
Socks and underwear
Swimsuit

Electronics
iPhone
iPad
Camera
Kobo e-reader
Charging cords, plugs and adapters
Headphones
Portable charger*
Gorillapod

Tools and spares
For assembling and disassembling my bike (and tightening things that work loose)
For fixing flats
For oiling the chain and cleaning the bike
Plus FibreFix spoke, chain master link, spare nuts and bolts, Tenacious tape, duct tape, zap straps

Misc
Mess kit
Platypus softbottles 2 x 0.5-litre (for extra water if needed)
Pocket knife
Toiletries
Maps
First aid kit
Notebook and pen

Traveling
Bike case
Large duffel bag for panniers
Ortlieb backpack converter (to make it easier to deal with the one pannier I'll use as a carry-on with my handlebar bag)

* These things I'm not certain I will take. It would be nice to have a supportive chair when camping, to sit in while reading, writing this journal, etc. The portable charger can charge my phone or Garmin when outlets aren't available or are located somewhere I don't want to leave those more valuable items. UPDATE I packed both. **UPDATE 2 At the last minute I took out the merino arm and leg warmers.

I'm so terrified I'll forget something! I know most things can be purchased on the road, but it would be annoying to forget something I bought for this trip!

When I get back, I'll comment on whether I would pack the same stuff again for the same trip.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0