St-Lizier to Arlos - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2016

St-Lizier to Arlos

Over Col de Portet d'Aspet and Col de Mente in the rain

The chambre d'hôte was a good call; it rained all night I think. There were two other guests at breakfast, a Dutch couple, also cyclists. They were also planning to ride Col de Portet d'Aspet but although they left soon after I did and were carrying a lot less, I never saw them.

The route was easy to navigate once I got out of St-Girons, where I'd gone first to find an ATM. Then it was D 618 all the way up and all the way down, sometimes in light rain, sometimes just cloudy. I left St-Girons just before 8 so nothing was open except boulangeries. Happily, there were several villages along the way and I stopped at an épicerie in Orgibet and bought a package of cookies. These I could snack on during short stops. Once I opened them though, they were so good it was hard not to eat the lot at once!

The last village before the real climb begins is St-Lary. This place looked very welcoming and it would have been nice to explore it, but the rain had stopped at that point and I continued past. The last village before the summit is Portet d'Aspet, and 15 km past the Col, is a larger village called Aspet. I didn't go that way, so don't know the history behind these names.

I liked the looks of this building.
Heart 0 Comment 0
St-Lary
Heart 0 Comment 0
Funny, this is France but this bear warning sign appears to be in Spanish and not French!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering another Département
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the climb begins! Unlike the Ariège signs, Haute-Garonne's feature a stylized cyclist wearing what appears to be an aero helmet. I won't need one of those.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top. Lots of stickers on the sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Descending from Col de Portet d'Aspet, wearing my microfleece and rain jackets and warm gloves, I noticed that my brake levers were bottoming out. I'd noticed yesterday that they were close but had forgotten to tighten the cables, but when I saw the second sign indicating 17% slope, I stopped and fixed them on the side of the road. Then, not that much further, was the memorial to Fabio Casartelli. I was glad I'd taken the time to adjust my brakes and with the steepness of this descent, one can only imagine how fast pro racers might be going.

This is what made me tighten my brakes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting information about the design of the memorial.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The memorial to Fabio Casartelli
Heart 0 Comment 0
Read the info board!
Heart 0 Comment 0
He was an Olympic champion cyclist too, before turning pro, when the Olympics were restricted to amateurs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was on the roadside barrier wall, a few metres downhill from the memorial, presumably marking where it actually happened. From Velonews last year: "Fabio Casartelli crashed into a concrete barrier while descending the Cat. 1 Col de Portet-d’Aspet during stage 15 of the 1995 Tour de France on July 18. In one of the most harrowing incidents in Tour history, the Italian died from a massive head injury. He was 24."
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the bottom, decision time: Col de Menté as planned, or stay on D 618 for the lower Col de Buret and Col des Ares. I opted to stick with my plan since Col de Portet d'Aspet wasn't that difficult from the east. Approaching from the west and riding up those 17% slopes would have been a different experience altogether.

Okay, decision made. Will I regret it?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Of course, the rain started again once the real climb commenced and continued all the way to the top. About 3 km from the top I was passed by a roadie, followed a few minutes later by his 3 friends. I saw them again later in the restaurant at the summit. One of them had just dropped his bike, whereas I took my Col photo and then went in and immediately changed out of my wet t-shirt and into my dry microfleece jacket (in the WC). This is the first Col I've climbed that had any facility at the top, and I was glad to stop.

My bike's pointed in the right direction, but I want to warm up first!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Even though it was after 2, when I asked about food I was offered omelet, frites, salade. Perfect! A café au lait after and I was ready to ride again–downhill. And it was downhill all the way to St-Béat.

With the help of the tourist office in St-Béat, I am staying in something approaching a hostel. I have a 6-bed room with kitchenette to myself. Dinner and breakfast are included and will be brought to my room since apparently there is a large group of kids dominating the dining room. Fine by me. 65€ including wine with my dinner.

61 km; ascent 1487 m; descent 1386 m

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 829 km (515 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0