Prades to Quillan - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2016

Prades to Quillan

Climbing into the wind

This turned out to be a very tough day. Not only was a significant climb involved, but it was mostly against a headwind. From Prades I headed up the D 14, which I followed all the way to Col de Jau. The beautiful scenery was enough to take my mind off the climb, but I have to admit that the headwind was draining. It wasn't impossible, but at times it was much more than a cooling breeze that also kept the flies away.

Molitg-les-Bains looked very classy. It might have been a nice stop, if I had had a suitable companion for a splurge. But I didn't and it was less than 10 km into the day. I continued though Mosset, which had a very nice tourist info centre. Continuing upward, there was the Tour de Mascara well-placed to control traffic through the valley and then some scenic switchbacks to the Col.

Approaching Molitg-les-Bains. This would have been a nice place to stay, maybe? Closer, there were signs about no camping in the area. I suspect there's no budget accommodation either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The castle above Molitg-les-Bains
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Bains
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked this old building (house with attached barn?) with its lavender field gone wild.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mossett
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tour de Mascara? Not the bike race in Algeria, but this was approximately where my map indicates "Tour de Mascara" which I thought might be a tower.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding up Col de Jau
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wild roses, one of my favourite flowers and the provincial flower of Alberta. I wasn't expecting to see them in France.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More roadside flowers
Heart 0 Comment 0
And more!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't usually take selfies, and include them even more rarely, but I like this one, even though I cut off the top of the sign and my chin.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Standard col photo
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering Département de l'Aude, where the road designation changes from D 14 to D 84
Heart 0 Comment 0

Down, down, down. How I love well-earned descents. On the way I passed a van marked "Federation Française de Ski" with a few young cyclists snacking. I passed more young cyclists on their way up. Sadly, I don't think this sort of cross-training is available to aspiring Canadian ski racers. As a former ski racer parent, I would have appreciated something like this, especially if it didn't cost an arm and a leg (as all such camps in Canada do).

At the intersection with D 17, I took the direction toward Roquefort-de-Sault, though the very nasty 1 km hill almost made me wish I hadn't. Roquefort-de-Sault is tiny, but I found an open café. Apparently there's another, but I didn't want to go up a steep street to find it. It was even called "End of the World" but that wasn't enough to entice me. The one I did find had a couple of likely regulars outside and some young teens inside--free wifi so glued to their phones. I had a fancy cheese toast and a tart with sablé crust and strawberries. And then the proprietor offered to fill my bottles with ice water! Very nice.

The friendly little café in Roquefort-de-Sault.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ô Quebec chairs in the little café in Roquefort-de-Sault. Are they actually made in Quebec?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Good thing I had cold water because it was uphill again to Col de Garavel. I was bagged. The weather was very hot and I don't do heat well. At the next intersection, the choice was between the direct route through Escouloubre village, or the longer route over Col de Moulis to Escouloubre-les-Bains to join the D 118 about 8 km further south. I chose the shortcut. There were some signs at the intersection about a "diversion" but I thought it was about D 17 as I'd seen similar signs before.

A rather decrepit col sign
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was an exhilarating descent of about 1 km to Escouloubre, where, on the other side of the village, was a sign announcing "Route Barrée à 6 km." What? I'd didn't want to climb back up so I thought I'd continue and see if a bike could get through. But it was a steep descent for the entire distance. A man on a motorcycle passed me, and I thought I'd see him coming back up if it was really impassable. But I didn't see him until the further "Route Barré" sign, with still nothing across the road. He was on his phone, but spoke to me and when I asked if he'd tried going further, he said no.

Really not wanting to climb all the way back up, I figured I might as well try. I continued on. There was a tunnel, short but long enough to be dark so that I couldn't see the road surface so I took it very slowly. Then I came to the problem: just where this road met the D 118, the bridge over the Aube was being resurfaced. The construction crew was two, a machine operator with a very small backhoe and a labourer. The backhoe operator was quite snotty, but he did let me through.

The D 118 through the Gorges de l'Aube was beautiful, gently descending through the gorge. At Gorges de St-Georges (one star I'm my Michelin map), I learned why they're called "balcony roads." I got always think of a balcony as an outdoor space an apartment might boast, but a sign made it clear that it was the limited clearance underneath that made it a balcony road.

D 118 through Gorges de l'Aude
Heart 0 Comment 0
This must be just to "catch" occasional rocks; I don't think it would stop any size of real rockslide.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gorges de l'Aude
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beginning of the balcony section. There wasn't a place in the balcony section where I felt safe to stop and take a photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After Axat, at the intersection of D 118 and D117, there was a nice tourist information building, with public washrooms. The D 117 and D 118 run together from this intersection to Quillan, but although it was busy and fast, I wasn't terrified.

It was a relief, however, to reach Quillan since I was tired and very hot. The municipal campsite here is a bit resorty. I greatly appreciated the pool (and the WCs provided with toilet paper), but I could have done without the loud electronic dance music at the pool concession. Is this Europop? In any case, it shut down at 10:30 so sleep was fine.

88 km; ascent 1647; descent 1652

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 88 km (55 miles)
Total: 475 km (295 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0