Long way home - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2016

Long way home

When I booked my flights last fall (using Aeroplan points), there were multiple options for the first leg leaving Bilbao. Four or five "partner" airlines to choose from, but all left Bilbao at 6:45 a.m. I wondered about this but chose Brussels Airlines because Bilbao-Brussels-London Heathrow-Vancouver seemed more reasonable that detouring to Lisbon or Geneva.

I arrived at the rather small Bilbao airport early and things were just waking up. I suspect all those flights were scheduled for 6:45 because that was the earliest time slot available! As my plane left its gate, the pilot said something about queuing up for the runway. I guess it just depends who is ready first!

The day started well. Although my itinerary contained a note stating that, although I could check tow bags for free on Air Canada, partner airlines might be different and I should expect Brussels Airlines to charge me 120 Euros for my baggage. I had dithered about doing this online the night before since there's a significant discount, but I didn't because that amount didn't appear anywhere in Brussels Airlines' standard baggage rates. Good thing, because my bags were checked through to Vancouver with no charge! They weren't even weighed!

I had a quick breakfast in the airport, for which there was a long line because only one of the two little cafés was open. Breakfast was also served on the plane, a pink box with a small container of yogurt, a packaged roll and a packaged madeleine, butter, and a piece of cheese. I ate the yogurt and saved the cheese and butter for later, thinking I might pick up something in the Brussels airport.

The Brussels airport looked rather pleasant, as airports go. I hoped to find my departure gate with a little time to spare to look around and maybe even pick up some gifts since my plan of shopping in Bilbao yesterday had been dashed by the holiday. However, I hadn't expected the very long, slow queue for passport control. I can't recall having to go through passport control to leave a place before, but everyone else seemed to have been caught by surprise too. Many were concerned about missing their connections. This was all on the "secure" side; there was no need to go through security again.

Morning deejay, Brussels Airport
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once through that, off to find my gate. It's a good thing I can walk fast! My opinion of the Brussels airport was plummeting, and when the signed directions for my gate routed me unnecessarily through shops, I was definitely not happy about the Ikea treatment. But I did make it, just.

Six hours to kill in Heathrow. I had done some online research and the consensus was, don't leave Heathrow unless you have more than 6 hours because you need to save three of them to get back in and through security, and of course you need to line up and go through customs/immigration to leave the airport. Maybe I could do my shopping here? Not really. There was nothing anyone I knew would want at a price I was willing to spend, especially when I factored in the exchange rate. I went for a pub lunch in the airport instead.

The next leg was the longest, London to Vancouver, 9 hours or so. So glad I'd managed to book premium economy for this as it was reasonably comfortable. I did look with envy at the business-class accommodation, but I don't think I could ever bring myself to pay that much!

The day ended as it started, on a good note. For the first time returning home by air with my bike, all my luggage arrived when I did!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0