Almost at the starting line–Barcelona - Pyrenees Solo 2016 - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2016

Almost at the starting line–Barcelona

It's been a challenge. On the way to the airport, I realized I might have only packed one AC/USB converter. It's better to have two so I can charge two gadgets at once and besides, I have two outlet converters. So I dug the little bag of cables etc. out of my pannier inside the big duffel and put it in the pannier I was using as a carry-on. I should have just checked to see how many converters I'd brought and returned it to the duffel. Going through security, I remembered the hard way that I'd packed my Swiss Army knife in that little bag so it wouldn't be loose. The security fellow was nice, though. He set it aside for Al to come and pick up. I'd had to do the same for Al in March so I guess we're even now.

The trouble with booking on points is that sometimes connections aren't as good as they could be. I had 12 hours in Toronto and that's way too long to spend at an airport. I took the new UP (Union Station–Pearson Airport) train into town ($12 to Union Station) to explore. The area around Union Station was very quiet at 7:30 on a Sunday morning. None of the things I wanted to see were open Sunday morning so I decided to walk the 10 km to a relative's house, seeing some of the city on the way to a shower and nap (the relatives spend their weekends at their cottage).

The first half of the walk was through a city that had zero appeal to me. It got better when I saw Lake Superior--correction, Lake Ontario (thanks, Rachel, glad you got a laugh)--and detoured to walk along the shore for a bit. High Park was okay too, but I didn't find much appeal until I got to the Bloor Streer West neighbourhood with its high street lined with shops and leafy residential streets.

After my nap and a late lunch on Bloor Street, I figured I might as well head for the airport. I took TTC (Toronto's public transit) and it was fast and cheap at $3.25. I was very glad I started early. Although the airport web site said there was less than a 5 minute wait at security, it was the longest security line I've ever seen (though I don't travel much).

On board, I enjoyed Air Canada's "Premium Economy" seating and service. It's what economy used to be way back when. Free drinks, almost decent food served on china, those hot towels. I finished my book, watched a movie, and fell asleep.

Toronto from the lakeshore
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0