Gravina - Matera - Wandering in Puglia - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2022

Gravina - Matera


It’s windy in Italy, but lucky for us the wind was mostly to our backs today. Just a short ride with a couple of steep sections, one getting out of Gravina and the other getting into Matera. 

I think I’ve mentioned that my brother isn’t a big fan of the sweet Italian breakfasts, so when we were asked yesterday if we wanted sweet or salty, I kept it simple by going along with his salty. We had no real idea what that meant. 

This is what it meant. Accompanied by a cappuccino, juice, and slices of baguette. We got our daily protein early.
Heart 0 Comment 0

With the wind we made good time and there were moments going up hills where it felt as if there was a hand on my back, pushing me. 

Entering Basilicata. The sign behind the stop sign says you are entering a nuclear free zone. I’m okay as long as nobody checks me with a Geiger counter. I’m a Hanford Downwinder.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was a nice ride on low traffic, decent shape roads. Even got to wave to the Google car. One small note, there used to be a marked, raised bike lane going into Matera. One can still see where it is supposed to be, but the raised pavement is mostly gone. 

Go out for a bit of a walk in the heat of the day. Tomorrow morning it’s a guided tour of Matera. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Accommodation: AirBnB - PaneAmore

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0