Lobster in Maine - Heading South For a Promise of A Warmer Winter - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2019

Lobster in Maine

Portsmouth, NH to Kennebunk, ME

Gerry spoiled us in Portsmouth! We had a nice dinner with really fun conversations with Gerry and Catherine. Gia, her service dog is a sweetie. All too soon it was time to say goodbye. Two special people!
Heart 0 Comment 0

We rode over the bridge into Maine very shortly. We were treated to a beautiful ride today. 

The back roads of Maine are amazingly quiet and beautiful.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool and quiet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We climbed 1500 feet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of beautiful homes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just spectacular today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ocean Roll is a food truck serving deliciuos food. We had to try the Lobster roll. Oh my, was it ever good.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Maddy! Very curious. If she sits still I'll get a better picture.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jay is our host today. He works until five so we are showering, doing laundry and busy with our usual journal, catching up with emails, etc!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jay, Maddy and Lara
Heart 1 Comment 0
Home for tonight!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The house
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dinner
Heart 1 Comment 0

So for another post office adventure: I asked Clint to mail something to me and sent him the address. He sent it off and I got looking at the receipt and noticed I had him mail it to Massachusettes! The same town is also in Maine and in New Hampshire. We will be in New Hampshire! I called USPS and sat on hold for an hour BUT it was worth it because she told me how to get the local number to talk to the postmaster! You go on USPS website, click on the 3 lines in the top left of the page, click on quick tools, USPS locater, put in the zip of the post of office you want, then click on the post office listing and up pops the local phone number!!! 

I called the postmaster and he very sweetly told me he could forward the mail to the post office in New Hampshire. I gave him the address and thanked him profusely. Then I happened to check the address I had given him after we hung up and I realized our route didn't go through that town! I  quick got the address of the town we were riding through and called him back. He was very patient with me. We changed the address and once again said our goodbyes. 

I looked up the phone number for the postmaster for the place we are forwarding our mail to and called him to let him know something is coming General Delivery and fortunately he is also a sweetie and says he will look for it. We should ride through there next week. What a flake I'm turning into at this age!!! But I'm meeting lots of wonderful people along the way!

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 8,317 miles (13,385 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0