High winds and sharp wires - Heading South For a Promise of A Warmer Winter - CycleBlaze

November 30, 2018

High winds and sharp wires

Deming to Las Cruces

Rain
Heart 0 Comment 0

This morning we woke to wind and rain. We stalled as little and the rain cleared leaving one of those west winds you only want to travel eastward! I'm still having rough nights and woke up so tired I wasn't sure I could ride. Had a few bites of grits with some yogurt and lay down until Chris, Stevie and Emmy were ready. We took off around 10 am. Stopped at 19 miles at a trading post and asked a few people if I could get a ride. I just sat on a bench for awhile and when I got up we headed into the wind to get back on I-10. Not ten minutes in Stephen's front tire went flat. Chris was with him and they stopped to pick a wire out and patch the tube. Meanwhile,  Emma and I kept riding. I didn't dare stop. At mile 49 I knew there was a Love's so I just kept pedaling. The first 19 miles I wore myself out zipping along at 23mph so this time I would coast if I went past 20mph so my pedal assist could help me. 9 miles from the Loves, my tire went flat. I stopped and put on two bubble coats. Em and I got the tire off. It was the rear one. I found the wire and we were sitting there in the dirt when the boys rode up. Tube was patched and we were back on the bikes in short order. We rode to Loves for a pre break and then the last 7 miles to our hotel. Got a nap and we are ordering out Chinese.

Heart 1 Comment 0
The Big Chili Inn
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 2,489 miles (4,006 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0