St. Laurent-du Var - Nice Airport, Balham Station - My House. - Calais - Nice - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2003

St. Laurent-du Var - Nice Airport, Balham Station - My House.

We were up at 6-30, showered and loaded the bikes for the last short ride. There was no problem reaching the airport, but there are two terminals and naturally I guessed wrong. We checked in at the almost brand new one, which looks fantastic, but whose services, particularly finding a decent breakfast are not so good. There was no need to dismantle the bikes, nor to pack them in cardboard or bubble wrap, all that was required was the usual deflation of tyres.

We landed at Gatwick on a beautiful summer's morning. The baggage handlers slung the bikes on the conveyor, in spite of assurances to the contrary. We made complaints, but there was no damage to my machine. Chris thought there might be a buckle in his back wheel. He was given a claim form. We took the train from Gatwick with the bikes. Between East Croydon and Balham, I told the lady sitting next to me where we'd been. 'You must be worn out,' she said. ' I feel fantastic,' I replied. And I did. We had a second breakfast at my house; Tea, with scrambled eggs and grilled tomatoes on toast. It was delicious.

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 1,385 km (860 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0