In Ferrara: Walking the walls - An Italian Spring, 2023 - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2023

In Ferrara: Walking the walls

I just wanted to let everyone know that I appreciate everyone’s patience with me having so many posts related to my hikes.  I’ve been doing a lot more walking and hiking for multiple reasons.  

I am continuing to have breathing issues with my nasal surgery which is exacerbated by wind and humidity which we’ve been having a lot of lately.  In addition, I’ve been having issues with too much time in the saddle.  But most importantly, hiking gives me a chance to see things in a different way.  Below are photos from my wonderful walk along the upper and lower walls around Ferarra.  Even though the trail was wet in some places and they was a little rain it was amazing!

The following photos are from the path along the top.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heading down from the upper walls.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The next photos are from heading down:

Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s hard to tell from the photo but there is a big pool of water here. Fortunately, I could get around it!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another pool of water with a great reflection in it.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Suzanne GibsonSo fortunate that you are such an enthusiastic walker! Hope your breathing problems clear up when the weather is better.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kelly IniguezJacinto isn't easy to impress, but he does like your large daily distances when walking! Do what brings you joy.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jacquie GaudetSome of us are just envious of your intact knees. I walk a lot, but not as much as you.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kathleen ClassenI love reading about your hikes! One of my favourite activities too.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI am really lucky I have good knees. Hopefully, they will stay that way!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Kathleen ClassenWhat a nice thing to say! I’m really enjoying the hikes.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Kelly IniguezWow, that’s a great compliment from Jacinto! The two of you are great and I look forward to following your tour!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonI hope so, too. I’m getting excited about meeting up with you and Janos! I hope we don’t hold you back too much, mighty conquerer of Ventoux!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Bob KoreisNow you have me wanting to return to Ferarra just to walk the walls. Saw some from the outside on the way into town, but didn't walk them as part of the visit.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Janice BranhamThanks for thia wonderful armchair tour of the walls. Keep on truckin'
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Bob KoreisIt was great! I just finished a hike in Verona which also has some amazing walls along with a variety of great paths.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Janice BranhamI’m really enjoying all the great hiking!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago