You Can’t Make This Stuff Up - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2022

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up

A cyclist walks into a bar…only kidding. 

Actually what I did was try to go to a restaurant for lunch in a little town called Sonora (we’re talking well under 500 people in the whole town)  And of course the one restaurant I found was closed. But there were two old guys (I know I’m old but they were way older than me) in the parking lot sitting in their respective cars chatting, so I asked them two things:  is there another restaurant in town, and can you tell me how to get to airport road?  With respect to question one, consensus was go to Brooksey’s (checked it out…ate at the gas station). With respect to question two, neither of them had any idea but they were certain it must be out in the country?  Where was I if not in the country?  A booming metropolis of under 500 people, a Dollar General, and Brooksey’s?

Another 90 plus mile day today. Trying to find the right plan that gets me through eastern Kentucky. It’s been stressful but I think I may finally have a workable plan. Unfortunately it looks like that means tomorrow is yet another 90 plus mile day. I have a bail out option at about 70-75, so I guess we’ll just have to wait until tomorrow and see what happens. 

Another milestone reached today…under 1,000 miles left to go!  Seems like a lot, but that means about 3,300 - 3,400 behind me.  There are plenty of challenges remaining including, lots of climbing in both eastern Kentucky and western Virginia, missing roads and bridges to navigate in eastern Kentucky, and of course eastern Kentucky loose/wild dogs. 

Today’s ride was really pretty. This part of the country is just so green (fields and forests). I did miss one turn, but it only added a couple miles as I was able to recover pretty quickly. Maybe the best part was I got to ride on some sweet asphalt. Coming into Loretto, there was a long stretch of newly paved road…sooo smooth!  I got some practice in out running a few chasing dogs.  Nothing too aggressive, mostly just a lot of barking and the chase. 

No sign of the day, but I did snap a few photos, and yes one is a barn. And I do have a story about someone helping me out today. 

I’ve been thinking about what else can I get rid of to reduce the weight I’m carrying before I get into the next round of climbing. So my plan was to get into town early enough to mail some stuff home. Oops, forgot about the time zone change (I’m now in the eastern time zone). So I thought it was just 2:30 but it was just past 3:30 and the post office was closed. So I did what Ferris Buhler would have done, I knocked on the door and asked nicely. Well Julie said sure she’d open up the federal post office for some sweaty dude on a bicycle???  No really she did. She even put the box together, helped me pack it, and then sealed it.  Definitely didn’t see that coming. Just another example of the good folks I have met along the way. And my bike is now over 5lbs lighter 😉

 Need to go to bed as it’s late even though it doesn’t feel late yet (time zone change). 

Ian

A little Kentucky scenery from Howardstown, KY
Heart 5 Comment 0
Some more Kentucky scenery from Howardstown, KY
Heart 5 Comment 0
Barn of the day. From Madrid, KY
Heart 6 Comment 0
Thought you might want to meet Julie. And yes that is my box she’s holding.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Today's ride: 92 miles (148 km)
Total: 1,087 miles (1,749 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Gary NuttIt is amazing how many people, like Julie, that you have encountered, who will go out of their way to help you, and how few downer folks you have reported in the blog.

An optimist would say that under 1K in a 4K mile trip is down the stretch. Hang in there, Jersey Boy. I assume you have already chosen a Grateful Dead song for your last post :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago