When One Journey Becomes Two - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2022

When One Journey Becomes Two

Yesterday began like so many other days on our journey.  But around 20 miles into a 60 plus mile day things changed. It went from being Ian’s and Dan’s journey to Ian’s journey and Dan’s journey. So while we started the day heading to  Breckinridge together, we arrived separately to meet our respective wife and to plan our separate paths forward. How and or why we arrived at this point is not relevant. It just is how we’re moving forward. I am forever grateful to Dan for without him having started this journey with me, it most likely would have never started (at least not this year). 

On the flip side, Breckinridge here I come to see Mrs G for the first time in a month.  Truthfully for the first time in my life, I wished I had an e-bike so I could have gotten there sooner. Had a great time walking through town, eating, and visiting the outdoor art show.  Good news is we didn’t buy any new art, bad news is we did collect some business cards for future viewing (and maybe buying). 

The ride itself was a mixed bag. Some good roads and some bad roads. Route 9 was a bad road, especially from the 13 mile marker to about the 20 mile marker…curvy, busy, fast, and just all around not fun. On the other end of the spectrum, the bike path from Frisco to Breckinridge was outstanding (even if there was a steep climb to the dam).  Pictures are somewhat limited because I really had one mission…get to Breckinridge to see Mrs G.  But I have some from the start and a few good ones from where Route 9 and Route 30 crossed the  Blue River. 

A final very, no extremely important part of the day is that it was  National Cookie Day!  I ate my homemade chocolate chip cookies, did you?

Until tomorrow’s blog…

Ian

The view at the beginning of the morning’s ride.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Blue River looking southwest at Rt 9 and CR 30. Do you see the guy fly fishing?
Heart 4 Comment 0
Blue River looking southeast at Rt 9 and CR 30. Do you see the other guy fly fishing?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Looking southeast beyond the Blue River.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I think it’s a barn?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Not a beautiful sign of the day, but it meant I was in Breckinridge with Mrs G
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 2,562 miles (4,123 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michele GordonOk ….I can’t seem to find the second fly fisher ??? 😳 I’ll keep looking

Breckinridge was fun and way too fast ……you are in Colorado for a bit more sooooo More chances for me to see ya
Woohoo 🥰
Reply to this comment
1 year ago