What Time is it Anyway - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2022

What Time is it Anyway

So you think it would be easy to know what time it is. Right, just look at your cell phone. Yeah well I thought that too. Then we found out that even though the Lochsa Lodge is technically in Pacific Time Zone, they operate on Mountain Time. And then we started riding in the  morning in Pacific Time (at a lodge operating in Mountain Time) and then 15 miles later, really crossed into Mountain time at the top of the Lolo Pass. You following all that?


Pre-ride breakfast with the new Breakfast Club. It was Dan, Mary Ann, Kevin, and me.  Good food to get us started and let it warm up a bit. We woke up in the low 40’s so we were in no rush to get started.  But once we started…

Another great day of riding. Nice climb to the top of Lolo Pass (elevation 5225 ft) and then a screaming downhill for pretty much the rest of the ride. 

Pictures weren’t taken on the climb and we missed the absolute best picture on the descent. Dan was leading, pedaling and looking down. I looked ahead and yelled Dan slow down!  Stop!  There right in front of us was a huge (no really huge) moose. I swear if I hadn’t yelled to Dan, there would have been a bike hits moose story in tomorrow’s local paper.  So we both dove into our bags to get our cameras, and you guessed it…the moose was not in a pose for a picture mood and he just crossed the street and disappeared into the woods. 

We ended the day in Missoula by visiting the offices of the Adventure Cycling Association. They’re the folks who create the routes and maps we follow. Cool place and way bigger than I thought it would be. 

I did find a barn today and more bee boxes. Don’t think I mentioned them before but really exciting to see so many people trying to increase the bee population. We definitely need a fund raiser called “Ride for the Bees”. 

Ok just need to add the pictures and then off to bed. Oh did I tell you we found a great bakery?  Hey don’t judge me…I think all this riding earns us the right to eat bakery goods at least a couple times a week. 

Night All

Ian

The new and improved breakfast club. Dan, Mary Ann, Kevin, and me all doing multi-thousand mile rides.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Top of the Lolo Pass and crossing into Montana. The pea soup green machine made it!
Heart 7 Comment 0
Sign of the day. Zoom and and ponder WTF Montana.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Enid MeadowsZoom in?... That was the first thing I noticed. I put it there 🤣😎😇
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I’ve been noticing a lot of these bee boxes and they make me smile. They come in all colors and they are part of the process of saving our planet.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Random scenery as I am constantly reminding myself to look up and look around. Well not really random. That is Lolo Peak and that’s snow up there!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Surprise… I found a barn!
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 3,550 miles (5,713 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michele GordonHey love
Thanks for starting my day out right
I read your entries and can’t but help smile ….glad you found a bakery 😉
Pedal safe
Reply to this comment
1 year ago