Well Hello North Carolina…I Think - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2022

Well Hello North Carolina…I Think

Today I officially rode into the final state of my journey…at least I think I did. I must have come across the border in stealth mode because there was no “Welcome to North Carolina” sign. Or maybe I’m just not welcome here since I’m not a Tar Heel fan 😳.  Regardless, I’m in the 10th and final state and less than 100 miles from riding into the waves of the Atlantic Ocean. 

Today's ride had just a little more downhill than uphill. And yes at this point that’s just fine with me.  Virginia absolutely came in like a lion, tested me along the way with I think the most climbing of any state, (and the worst dog attack I experienced) and then sent me off with a nice flat final ride.  But of course that wasn’t Virginia’s final gift…she tossed in a lot of humidity and just enough rain and wind (headwind of course) to make it interesting.  Fortunately the biggest downpour held off until I was sitting comfortably in TW’s Outdoor and Hardware in Sunbury, NC.  I have become the official store greeter for the day (more on this in a moment). 

I really thought that as I moved east, there would be more food and sleeping options. Yeah not so much. I had an egg sandwich at a gas station for breakfast, had to get a hamburger today at 10:45 because I was otherwise in a food desert, a snack at Family Dollar, and dinner will be at a different gas station. I know you’re jealous or maybe just experiencing an involuntary gag reflex about now. Who knows, maybe I’ll go for the fried catfish tonight. As for places to sleep…got lucky tonight with a room at a B-n-B. It’s not an official room, but it’s a room that they make available for cyclists. Tomorrow I may have found a Warm Showers option…waiting to hear back (fingers crossed as I have no plan B yet). Camping options, motels, etc. not available unless I go primitive off the side of a road.  Ah, but it’s all good, as soon I’ll be sleeping in our (Mrs G’a and mine) bed and eating home cooked meals at our counter. 

Now back to TW’s…I’ve said it was humid and a bit rainy, and of course it’s still pretty warm. Not being able to get into my room for the night until 6pm, I’ve struggled to find a place to hang out and get out of the elements. I saw TW’s and asked if it would be ok if I plopped myself down in the store for a few hours. Well they went well above and beyond. Larry got me set up in a nice Adirondack Chair, gave me a cold bottle of water, gave me grapes out of his personal lunch, and helped me come up with a more efficient route for tomorrow. In return, I felt obligated to be the store greeter for the day. Now if I can just stop falling asleep in this nice comfortable chair, he might hire me full time (hey I’m gonna need a job or some structure in my life when I’m done with this ride). 

Alright then, just a couple more blog entries to write this week and you all will no longer be subjected to the musings of a mad man riding his bike across this great country of ours. 

Ian

Me at my post as the greeter at TW’s
Heart 6 Comment 0
Larry at TW’s. He got me all set up out of the elements and took great care of me.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sometimes even among equals, one just rises above the rest.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I am pretty sure this is cotton. Seems like there was corn and wheat almost everywhere, but don’t recall seeing cotton anywhere else.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltYes! Back in college in AZ ('67) I had a summer job at an agricultural experimental farm and one of my tasks was a weekly sweep for insect counts in several fields...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsYeah, not so much cotton growing in Kansas...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
In the absence of an official sign, you’re just going to have to image that this is me entering North Carolina.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Max GordonHeads Carolina!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 164 miles (264 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith AdamsDan got home Sunday, in case you hadn't heard already. Nice to see the two of you safely at or near journey's end.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Michele GordonYou da man Larry ….thanks ❤️

I can just imagine you sitting in that Adirondack chair greeting folks
Hilarious 🤣
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Max GordonEnjoy the flat! Unfortunately the humidity ain’t going nowhere
Reply to this comment
1 year ago