waHOOwa - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2022

waHOOwa

Memories…got to ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway today and to cruise through some of UVA and Charlottesville (including where Foxfield    https://www.foxfieldraces.com/ is held). I think the last time I rode on the BRP was when Michael Murray and I rode it from mile marker 0 to mile marker 469 (might have been 9 years ago). And I haven’t been to Charlottesville since Sharon’s and Mike’s wedding in October of 2015. 

I have heard a lot about the climb from Vesuvius to the BRP but I’d never ridden it before today. It’s definitely a steep one, but I guess because I am lacking in math skills, my calculations were off and it ended sooner than I expected (and that’s a good thing).  I would absolutely rank it in the top 5 or so of all the climbs I’ve done on this trip. The best news is that once I  climbed Vesuvius and got off the BRP today, all the real climbing was over. It’s relatively flat or downhill now until I hit the Atlantic Ocean. Side note - I did see another rider coming up the Vesuvius Hill. He was off his bike about about a half mile from the top (not a mechanical issue) and smiling because his trek was ending today in Crozet, VA (about 30 more miles to go for him). 

Another early morning start today. I was rolling at about 6:45am. Good time to get started because it cooler and the traffic is really light. Not sure traffic would have been an issue anyway, at least until I was meandering through some of the roads from Crozet to Charlottesville. Charlottesville was the worst, especially trying to ride up Route 29.  The BRP traffic was so light, there were times that I actually thought that they must have closed down the road. Trust me, I’m not complaining. 

I’ve mentioned a number of times how spectacular the landscape is in Virginia. I think that maybe the only thing that beats the views I saw from the BRP today are those same views in the fall when the leaves are changing color. Unfortunately it’s really hard to capture the beauty with an iPhone, but I tried. 

Thanks to Joe and Joyce (little e’s and Zekey’s other grandparents) for hosting and feeding me tonight. Great to see you both again. 

Tomorrow I’ll start the trek to Richmond. Breaking it up into two easier days versus a single 115 mile day. Looking forward to seeing my cousins who I haven’t seen in about 30 years. And then on Monday, it’s the final push to the Outer Banks (wow, that seems to have come quickly). 

Ian

And now for the pictures…

Here’s the elevation map for today’s ride.
Heart 4 Comment 0
For me this is the sign of the day. I actually have this one hanging back at home too. Well it was hanging when I left…Mrs G?
Heart 5 Comment 0
An attempt to share the views from the BRP
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another attempt
Heart 5 Comment 0
Back when Michael and I rode the BRP end-to-end, this is exactly where we started. I was saddened to find out that he didn’t recognize the place. It looked just like this 10 years ago too.
Heart 4 Comment 0
It says entering, but it’s actually where I exited the BRP today.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Saw this barn on the way to Charlottesville today. Another cyclist caught up to me and shared that she had taken the same picture on her way out today. It’s the first barn I recall having been purposely decorated with flowers.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A Charlottesville landmark and tomorrow’s breakfast place…I know it’s not a gas station, but I’ll make an exception for Bodo’s
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 miles (132 km)
Total: 432 miles (695 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gary NuttHopefully, for you these last 3 days will be like the last stage in the Tour de France. After having a nice dinner with your grand children's other grandparents, and seeing your cousins, you could be drinking champagne as you peddle to the finish line.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Michele Gordonian can finish the ride in a handful of days but we calculated wrong not expecting him to complete so many long days in a row sooooo we are not getting to NC until Friday …..sadly ian has to ride real slooooow so he doesn’t beat us to nc 😬
See ya next week babe ……oh yeah …..the blue ridge sign is displayed proudly back here in Colorado 😉
Reply to this comment
1 year ago