Time To Rename The Blog - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2022

Time To Rename The Blog

Well…the bike is powered by the pedals, and the pedals are powered by me, and it became clear to me today that I am powered by the pancakes (yes, chocolate chip pancakes). I got up early this morning  and went to the Double A Cafe for breakfast. Couldn’t eat both pancakes so took half of one with me for a snack.  I know today’s  ride was shorter and that there was less climbing, but…I am totally convinced that the pancakes were the secret ingredient today. Maybe I’ll test it again tomorrow. 

Today’s ride was planned to be shorter so I could stay over at Al’s Place and so Baby (the pea soup green machine) could get a new pair of shoes (tires). More on Al’s Place later. As for bike shops, they are a rarity on the route so I took advantage of the day to go to the shop here in town. They we very accommodating and checked everything out. Clean bill of health and ready to take on the final miles!

The ride today literally and literally picked up where yesterday’s ended. Literally in the exact same place and literally because I immediately started climbing again.  Along the way I experienced only my second dog chase, and of course it happened on an uphill.  Since I have no e-assist to call on,  I had to rely on the power of the pancake (and it worked).  And then I had to deal with a big truck carrying railroad ties that was convinced that cycling was a felony and he was going to be the prosecutor, the judge, and the jury.  The pancakes were of no use here, but my Jersey upbringing at least made me feel better (sorry if that is lost on some of you but this is a PG-13 blog…hint, hint).  To be fair to both me and the drivers today, for most of the ride the shoulder was at best so so (when it was there at all) and there were those damn rumble strips everywhere.  Patience and tolerance were the words of the day. 

I had another unique experience today…I was blessed.  I’m being serious and well maybe that’s what allowed me to survive the irate trucker. I stopped to get some directions and water at a church. The guys working on the lawn let me into the church to use the bathroom, refill my water bottles with cold water, and then totally confused me about the directions. And then just as I was about to get back on my bike, JR asked if he could have a minute of my time. Of course I said yes, and then he said a prayer for me and asked that I be protected and that I have a safe ride today and all the way to North Carolina.  Maybe I need to give some credit where credit is due…just saying. 

Want to give some props to Farmington, MO.  It’s one of the nicest towns I’ve ridden through on this trip.  More businesses are open than closed in both the historic and newer sections. Lots of restaurants, shops, and Al’s Place. 

Al’s Place is the Cyclists Only Hostel. It’s incredible. It right in the historic section of town and right on  Bike Route 76 (TransAm). It has a kitchen, a washer and dryer, multiple bathrooms and showers, a living room area with a tv, and sleeping quarters for up to 14 people.  I’ll take a picture of Al’s story and attach it (hopefully it’s readable). 

Ok I think that the blog is longer than the ride, so I’ll stop now. 

Ian

JR Forrester and Alfred Bone at the Graniteville Full Gospel Tabernacle.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Barn of the day. The only one I felt safe enough to stop and take a picture of.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Welcome to Farmington. Wins the sign of the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Al’s Place common space.
Heart 5 Comment 0
My sleeping quarters. They even give you sheets and pillows and towels!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Al’s Story
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 1,452 miles (2,337 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michele GordonThat is one sweet hostile …..I think had you the chance to meet Al you would have been fast friends ……he sounds like he was a pretty amazing fellow
Reply to this comment
1 year ago