They Say Things Happen For A Reason - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2022

They Say Things Happen For A Reason

I had originally planned on staying in Dixon, KY tonight at a cyclist only camping location, but…the site had a water pipe and flooding issue. So now I needed a plan B.  Plan B was to ride another 12.5 miles to Sebree, KY and to stay at a church.  Well Plan B was a million percent better than Plan A. 

At the church , I first met Dillon (the Pastor) and Kristen his wife. Then I met the a number of the parishioners. There was an event going on upstairs and the women preparing all the food (led by Violet) insisted that I join them for a meal. Later Violet informed me (there was not an ask here, when Violet speaks people listen) that she was making dinner for me and the other two cyclists (Colleen and Doug, who I had met at a gas station yesterday) at 6:30. So at 6:30 the three of us walked across the street to Violet and Bob’s house.  While sitting there I saw another cyclist that I recognized (from staying at Al’s Place a few nights back) ride by. Bob and I jumped in his car and tracked down Andrew and brought him back to join us for dinner. A home cooked meal for all of us. First one in almost two months. Well it turns out that Bob was the pastor at the church for 37 years, and he and Violet have been hosting cyclists since Bike Route 76 was created. They open their house and their hearts to all of us. Violet shared her scrapbook of all the different people she’s met and shared some remarkable stories. So…had the water pipes not burst in Dixon, I would have stayed in Dixon and never met the fine people of the Sebree First Baptist Church, nor would I have had a home cooked meal and that would have been two big losses for me. 

I was told that the best hostel on the TransAm route was Al’s Place.  It was truly a special place, but the church accommodations here plus the people combine to make the Sebree First Baptist Church a resounding number one!

Today’s ride was just another “Mosey Monday”.  I got on the ferry across the Ohio River at 7am and crossed into Kentucky shortly thereafter. Then it was off to the locals’ favorite breakfast place (Dipp 88) in Marion. I think today was the most casual ride of the adventure.  Because it was so much shorter and less hilly than yesterday, I just moseyed along and still got to the destination way too early. Tomorrow will be a longer day and I’m sure there will be no Violet and Bob, and the Ladies of the Church at the destination.  

 I did take some pictures today and have a sign of the day and lots of barns and of course the ferry. Also some special people pictures to shared.  But if you take anything away from today’s blog it should be that the people make the journey worth all the time and effort that I have had to put into it. 

Ian

This is the scenery I woke up to. Pretty special, huh?
Heart 11 Comment 0
Do I get credit for the distance covered on the ferry? I need every mile I can get.
Heart 10 Comment 1
Keith AdamsIf you were *on your bike* I'd have counted it. But now that I have evidence to the contrary I'm afraid I'll have to dock you. :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Marion’s favorite breakfast place. And the food and service definitely earned it that title
Heart 8 Comment 0
The sign of the day…for obvious reasons if you’ve read the blog.
Heart 10 Comment 0
Violet and Bob. Two of the most special people I’ve met on my adventure
Heart 12 Comment 0
The Ladies of the Sebree First Baptist Church. They took great care of me and all were conversant in cycling the TransAm…even 92 year old Betty Zane!
Heart 10 Comment 0
Doug and Colleen. First we shared a meal at a gas station and then a real meal at Violet’s and Bob’s
Heart 7 Comment 0
Andrew…we’ve now stayed at the same hostel in different states twice.
Heart 6 Comment 0
My barn of the day picture.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Runner up sign of the day
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,214 miles (1,954 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith AdamsAfter many tough days and weeks, I'm glad to see you catch a break.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Michele GordonI think I’ll be smiling alllll day after reading this blog ……some real special folks for sure ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago