Someone Needs To Send The Feds To Buhler KS - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2022

Someone Needs To Send The Feds To Buhler KS

I have absolutely no idea what they put in their cookies, but there is no way it can be legal. I went into the Mustard Seed Coffee Shop and Cafe in Buhler, KS for a snack. I got two oatmeal raisin cookies and a drink.  When I left the shop, I felt like I hadn’t even started riding for the day and I was almost done.  Fortunately there is no drug testing on a TransAm ride. 

A miracle occurred today. I was so shocked and confused I had to pull out my iPhone and check that I was still in Kansas. The miracle was that while riding I was actually shaded by trees for almost 50 continuous yards.  Besides that, the scenery didn’t change too much and I again took a limited number of pictures. 

One thing that really got me thinking today was the number of oil rigs and storage tanks that littered the landscape.  As I rode by them, the smell reminded me of exit 13 (I think that’s where the oil tanks are) on the NJ Turnpike.  And so many of the rigs appear to be on the edge of or in the middle of corn and other types of fields. So I was wondering, would it be less intrusive, less unsightly, less smelly, less prone to leaks and/or spills, more cost effective, and overall just better to have fewer larger rigs not commingled with crops or is the current set up optimal. I’m sure there are issues I’m not considering such as mineral rights, etc., but I fear for the environment and especially the water supply. Just thinking (heck what else is there to do while riding if the scenery is not enthralling?)…

 Caution…if you are easily offended by religious conversations, skip this part. 

I rode by a bunch of old cemeteries today. There gates are often amazingly ornate and picture worthy, but I don’t take pictures of them. One specific gate that caught my eye today was much newer and very colorful. It said it was the Cemetery of the Church of God of the First Born. Now I will be the first to admit that I am ignorant to the myriad religious splinter groups. But is there really a special God for first born kids versus say us middle kids?  I guess I’m going to have to do some research on this topic…or one of you can enlighten me. 

Today’s ride (I guess that is what the blog is supposed to be about) was once again uneventful and that’s how I like it. Trucks continued to be courteous and only one car going the opposite direction for some unknown  reason seemed to aim over at me (for the record he missed).  I did have to make about a 3 mile detour due to construction. The detour put me on three different sandy (beach like) roads. It was a test to see how well I could control the bike. Good news, I passed the test with I don’t know maybe a solid B.  The rest of the day the roads varied from rock chipped to newly paved to big shoulder to no shoulders. No big hills and I think about 400-500 feet of net decline in elevation. From a weather perspective, the morning started out nice, but it heated up quickly. I think we topped out at 95 degrees, which by the way is the reason I chose the sign of the day. And then there was the wind…for the most part, not too bad today but of course there was never a tailwind. 

Now for this part of the blog, I’m wondering if I am the only one who sees the irony in this scenario. I stopped at a convenience store for a drink. When I came out I saw a Century Link truck and tapped on the window to ask the woman inside for some directions…no a man asking a woman for directions is not the irony…in fact I am appalled that some of you immediately went there. The woman looked at me and rolled (yes used an actual window crank) down her window!  How is it that a sophisticated technology company can have a fleet of trucks with manual, roll down windows?  Just seemed odd to me. 

Finally a shout out to Alex at the KwikShop in Nickerson where I stopped for a drink. He gave me a banana and offered me a chair to sit in the air conditioning while I waited for the bar/ food place next door to open. He is very supportive of all the riders who come through and just seemed like an all around good guy. 

Yes there is  barn of the day today…hope you’re not getting too bored of these. I enjoy looking for them (simple distractions equal simple pleasures on a 4,000 plus mile ride). 

That’s it for today. Tomorrow I get to meet the Sassy Sisters. 

Ian

Here’s the mug shot of the criminal bakery in Buhel, KS
Heart 4 Comment 0
Little pumpers seem to be everywhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And here’s the tanks that smell funky and pair with the pumpers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Barn of the day from Hudson, KS
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sign of the day. It was 95 degrees today but being a rule follower, I kept looking for ice. I never found any!
Heart 5 Comment 0
I like that Kansas takes bicycle safety seriously and for the most part drivers are compliant.
Heart 5 Comment 0
And it’s so easy to stay on course in Kansas because they post these signs everywhere.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Here’s Alex! Thanks for your help today.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 105 miles (169 km)
Total: 2,014 miles (3,241 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michele GordonLet’s hear it for the crack cookies 😜

Thanks Alex for taking care of my e ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago