So Much For Cool Weather - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2022

So Much For Cool Weather

Top of the first climb.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Cowboy drumming and sings Cowboy songs
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Cowboy and the Biker Dude (he actually owns the store)
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Cowboy, the Biker Dude, and the Shop Keeper. Now that’s an odd collection of cool people.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Hard not to stop and take a picture. But then again it’s safer to stop then to try and ride and take a picture
Heart 3 Comment 0
Some more great scenery
Heart 2 Comment 0
Adding to my barn picture collection
Heart 4 Comment 0
More barns…a double this time
Heart 5 Comment 0
Top of the second climb. My Surly made it. Wait how did it get there without me?
Heart 3 Comment 0
My turkey dinner…I know you want some.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Woke up, got outta bed, dragged a comb across my head…ok fine I have no hair so it was really a razor. Mrs G was saying I looked scruffy in the pictures, so I shaved and now look like a mensch. What you don’t know what a mensch is…do you not speak Yiddish?  Neither do I but it means a person. Riding started early today as we debated stopping in Mitchell population 130 (yes just 130 people but really cool people) or Dayville population 149 (hey that’s more than 10% larger). Mitchell would be about 40 miles and to Dayville would be 80 miles. 

Along the way we had our first mechanical issue. Fortunately for me it was Dan. He sorta fixed it and well if it was me, I’d still be on the road crying or maybe hitchhiking. All is good for now until we make it to Baker City and a bike shop. Note to self, sign up for a bike maintenance and repair class as soon as I get back home. 

Mitchell was cool. I met a Cowboy and a biker dude hanging out together on the porch of The Little Pine. The Cowboy was playing the guitar and singing Cowboy songs and the biker dude was just listening. For the record the biker dude owns the store. Also met Georgie (their little dog) and she wanted to come with me, but she didn’t make the weight limit 😳

Well we decided to keep going through to Dayville. Big 6 mile climb to the Pass/Divide but then about 30 miles downhill and/or flat. Glad we made the effort but food options were really limited. I personally had a turkey dinner and Dan ate canned veggies and black beans and yogurt (yes I’m making him move his tent). 

As it’s been everywhere in Oregon, the scenery was once again great. I think I’m developing a barn fetish. The old barns are just so cool and I feel the need to keep stopping to take pictures. 

Showers tonight with soap and then we do it all again tomorrow. 

Night folks!

Today's ride: 81 miles (130 km)
Total: 4,107 miles (6,610 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Michele Gordon81 miles …..you are beast
Well done 🥳😘
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gary NuttWhooo, a long day for sure. But now you are in Grand County (or darn close to it). I think you will like the segment from John Day to Baker (although I have never been over the renovated hwy 7). Not too many barns from Prairie City until you drop back into the flatlands approaching Baker.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago