Short Hop Over To Short Pump - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2022

Short Hop Over To Short Pump

Exactly a 25 mile ride from Beaverdam to Short Pump where my cousins live. Had to design my own route to get there and surprisingly it worked out just fine. Today effectively was a day off and a chance to reconnect with cousins I haven’t seen in about 30 years. Amazingly, none of us look a day older 😳. Ok well maybe a few days older.  Thanks Miles for spending the day with me and Avery for coming over and going to dinner with us. It was fun to go down memory lane with the two of you. And Vicki, hope you’re feeling better. Also Miles, let Henry know the pea soup green machine will be waiting for him when he’s 21.  

So not much to talk about with respect to today’s ride. Quiet roads on an early Sunday morning.  Of course it got warm quickly and it was humid. Arrived at Mile’s house around 9am and set PSG in the backyard for a rest (even PSG needs a rest every now and again). 

Will try to get started tomorrow before 7am …the final push to reach the beach by no later than Friday lunchtime.  Needed to plot a route (Not  my strong suit but I think we got it right…we’ll see in the morning for sure if I’m just aimlessly wandering around  Virginia then I guess google will have to help)  to get from Short Pump back to downtown Richmond and onto the Capital Trail.  Once I’m on the Capital Trail, I’ll be back on the official ACA route.   Then if all goes well it’s across the James River on the ferry. 

Only two pictures for the day, sign of the day and the cousins. 

Bye for now,

Ian 

The Cousins. Looks like the cops finally caught us and put us in a line up. Avery on the left and Miles to the right
Heart 5 Comment 0
I guess they all need to slow down and the rest of us can go fast. Grammar matters!
Heart 3 Comment 1
Max GordonBut why did they cross the road?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 265 miles (426 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michele GordonThose dang ducks turkeys and chickens 😜
Reply to this comment
1 year ago