Riding the Ribbon - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2022

Riding the Ribbon

Today started out “nice” and then quickly got warm, then very warm, then hot, then really hot, then ridiculously hot!  At the end of the ride it was 105 degrees in the shade…no wait, there was no shade.  And while it was actually 105 degrees, due to humidity, etc. it felt like 109.  The fact that I was still riding is evidence that one’s brain fries at those temperatures. Oh did I mention the wind?  Ran into almost 20 miles of headwind and then a long stretch of crosswind. Heat, humidity, lack of services, and head/cross winds…great riding weather 😳. 

Making matters worse today, the services available on the route today were effectively nonexistent until I was about 70% done. But that gap in services created opportunities for people to show kindness to strangers. In one town, I approached a local resident who brought me into his house and gave me two bottles of water. His wife also offered me snacks. Obviously they didn’t have to do that, but they did and then sent me off with their blessings. A bit later, I ran into Manuel from Germany.  He is riding from Washington DC to San Francisco. Interesting story in that he got caught in the Eastern Kentucky floods. He was in a hostel that totally flooded and was evacuated in the middle of the night.  Anyway he had bought and was carrying too much water today and wanted to lighten his load so he offered me some (how could I refuse to help a fellow rider) and of course I always have a need for more water on days like today.  And then later I was able to help out Jordan ( riding from Seattle to NYC). I had stopped at a bakery (shocking I know) and had some scones I was able to share with him. 

What’s riding the ribbon about?  Do you remember the ribbon candy we used to have at Christmas time (maybe you still have it)?  Well that’s what today's ride was like…at least for the first half. In fact the overall elevation barely changed even though it went up gently then down gently over and over again. 

 Back to the bakery…When I finally got to a town with services, I was directed by some locals to Cake Batter Batter for lunch and dessert. Of course I started with dessert (I’m old and can do that) and then had the best burger I’ve had since this adventure started (and I’ve had a lot of burgers). Pre-meal was a mini chocolate bundt cake.  After my meal, Tara sent me off with a bag full of scones to keep me fed on my travels (and then I shared some with Jordan).  Another stranger taking care of a cyclist!

The sign of the day is great. A garage sale sign that is as honest as honest can get. 

No barn today. I saw a pretty cool one, but was t able to get a good picture of it. And no scenery pictures because they’d look just like yesterday’s. 

If you don’t have a picture then it didn’t happen…right Max
Heart 5 Comment 0
Riding the Ribbon. It went up and down over and over again for miles and miles.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Emanuel, the rider from Germany, the survivor of the flood, and the sharer of water.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Cake Batter Batter. If you’re in town, you’ve got to stop in. And if you’re cycling, don’t forget to sign the cyclist book.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Tara at Cake Batter Batter holding those great mini chocolate bundt cakes.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Jordan traveling from Seattle to NYC
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sign of the day… could the author have been any more honest?
Heart 8 Comment 0

Today's ride: 96 miles (154 km)
Total: 1,909 miles (3,072 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Gary NuttKansas has been a real struggle for you. It looks like you might make it to Missouri by night fall??
Reply to this comment
1 year ago