Pedal Lazy - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2022

Pedal Lazy

Dictated by yesterday having stolen some of today’s miles and there being only very limited services for 52 miles past Great Bend, I had to either stop in Great Bend today or ride 104 miles.  Given my miles so far this week, the temperature, and the wind I chose stopping in Great Bend. So a little later start than normal and some lazy pedaling got me through my 52 mile day and into Great Bend in time for lunch. Plenty of time to shop and prepare for tomorrow. 

Had a great sleep last night at my schoolhouse campsite and got to see David, Krista, and the kids one more time to say thank you and goodbye.  Then it was off to Great Bend. The day began a little on the cooler side bit heated up quickly. 

My first stop was Rush Center (not sure what it is the center of). My map said there was food available. A more detailed examination revealed that I’d be eating at a gas station again. But this time I was privileged to sit and listen in on morning coffee meeting of the local farmers.  They talked about the weather and the need for rain, crop failures such as ears of corn with too few kernels, tractor issues and some that had caught on fire, timing the market right when bringing their products market, and the price impact of “flooding” the market. I’d swear if I closed my eyes and just listened it sounded a lot like a conversation at a Wall Street commodity trading firm. 

Before getting to Rush Center and after Rush Center until I got to Great Bend there are “technically” some towns. But it is really and truly just a technicality.  For example, Alexander is literally a rest stop. Nekoma is a sign (there might have been a church). And Timken has a population of about 18, and the two highway front buildings are vacant and for sale (maybe one of you is looking for a new business opportunity). 

Had some time to think today and realized that I haven’t seen an RV in a really long time. I guess eastern Colorado and western Kansas aren’t destination spots. I also noted that the trucks (at least most of them) are amazingly courteous to cyclists. The east bounders go way over the yellow line to give me room and the west bounders seem to move further to their right. Pretty cool. And I can count on one finger the number of pick-up trucks that honked aggressively versus in support of me riding (that’s the same number of times and the same truck that I had to go “Jersey” on). 

Been trying to figure out what to do when I hit eastern Kentucky. So far no real good options from the ACA. I’m going to stay the course for now versus take one of the 300 plus mile structured reroutes. More to follow on this as I get closer. 

I think that’s it for today. Hope you’re all doing well. 

Ian

Barn of the day. I caught this one hiding. Almost missed it and had I, there’d be no barn of the day. I’m sure you’re all so relieved 😌
Heart 2 Comment 0
A field outside Bazine, KS. Liked the solo stone fence post and the hay rolls. Scenery was just a little different this morning.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Standing tall and proud in Bazine, KS waiting for Don Quixote.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Old and new sharing the same field.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The morning meeting of the local farmers in the gas station/cafe in Rush Center, KS
Heart 5 Comment 0
Winner of the sign of the day contest. I had to google this one. Here’s the link. https://www.rushcounty.org/events/stpatricks.html
Heart 1 Comment 0
The town that’s called Timken. Current population is about 18.
Heart 1 Comment 0
35 miles outside Bazine and heading towards Great Bend, KS
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 2,066 miles (3,325 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith AdamsI'd be happy to make the routes that I laid out on Ride With GPS public, so you can consider them. In summary they were:

Looping south and east from the KC Kansas suburbs to pick up the Katy Trail across Missouri, then
a short stretch on Great Rivers South, connecting to
TransAm across southern Illinois, linking up with
Underground Railroad hedgehopping back and forth across the Ohio River in western Kentucky and southern Indiana, to
bushwhack through central and eastern Ohio,
picking up the Chicago to NYC route toward Pittsburgh, and finally
GAP + C&O Canal to get to my place outside DC.

Depending on timing I could perhaps shuttle you to a destination somewhere between Yorktown and North Carolina.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallYou have some time before you hit eastern Kentucky, the roads may very well be open for travel by then. Eastern Kansas is interesting and a little different than western Kansas, and you don't want to miss the roller coaster ride through the Missouri Ozarks. Riding the Ozarks will help prepare you for the Appalachians of Eastern Kentucky and Virginia. I think your plan to stay the course is a good one, assuming that your course is the Transam route. Some very interesting topography lays ahead of you, you don't want to miss it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago