My First Rain Day - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2022

My First Rain Day

Here’s a picture of me and my hitchhiker
Heart 4 Comment 1
Michele GordonAh ha …..I knew he was the hitchhiker 😌
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Who knew that in Oregon pigs don’t fly but rocks do?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nana’s in honor of my grandma was my lunch stop and where I got the best bran muffin ever
Heart 2 Comment 0

Left Monmouth, OR heading for Coburg, OR. Today was more of a “work day” as it was mostly about pedaling versus any specific sightseeing. I saw lots of hazelnut groves, and more hazelnut groves…did I say I saw hazelnut groves?  There were also lots of grass seed fields and one sheep farm. The roads were pretty quiet and if not for the rain starting and me stopping to put on a rain jacket, then the rain stopping and me stopping to take off the rain jacket, then rinse (literally) and repeat it would have been and uneventful ride. The stopping point of Coburg was cool. Nana’s baked the best bran muffin I’ve ever had. And then I picked up a hitchhiker there and he rode with me for a short while (yes on my bike). Camped in a nice site until it rained and rained and rained some more. All in all an ok day if you don’t mind a little rain. 

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 4,317 miles (6,948 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Gregory GarceauVery nice of you to pick up a hitchhiker and let him ride with you on your bike for a short while. (LOL) Did I mis-read that? Or is there more to the story?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Michele GordonRain in Oregon ….what a surprise ? How in earth did you haul 30 pounds of gear plus a hitchhiker ? Was said hitchhiker the flamingo yard ornament????😜🤣🤣
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonTo Gregory GarceauSorry Gregory forgot to add the picture. It’s there now and I think you’ll now understand 😉
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonTo Michele GordonSorry Mrs G forgot to add the picture. It’s there now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Ian GordonWhew! I had visions of a hitchhiker riding on your pannier rack with his or her arms wrapped around your waist.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Max GordonBran muffin? Not chocolate chip
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Shelby ScovelFilberts!! Mmm
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonWhat does Filberts mean. Remember I’m old.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Ian GordonAlternative name for hazelnuts, IIRC.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ian GordonTo Keith AdamsAhhhhh
Reply to this comment
1 year ago