More…More…More - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2022

More…More…More

More miles (100), more heat (101 degrees), more humidity (30%), more ribbon roads (you’re just gonna have to trust me on this one), more corn fields (a gazillion acres), more little pumpers (sorry lost count), more gas station food (twice today), and ending on a positive note, more nice drivers and people along the way. 

Started riding about 7am and started sweating about 7:15am. Carried more water and Gatorade than usual because of the heat and because it is Sunday and who knows what is open or closed. Kansas has been a tough state for support services but today I got lucky (you know even a blind squirrel finds an acorn every now and again).  

I’m really enjoying my rides but not sure the cows/cattle and horses are. Why you might ask…because some crazy guy on a pea soup green bike keeps interrupting their day by talking to them. Usually I just say good morning and wish them a good day. So far they just seem a bit annoyed and for some reason they never wish me a good day. And yes I do the same thing for the people I pass, and yes they are far more responsive. I have been seeing a large number of birds of prey canvassing the fields. They are beautiful to watch. When they land, I sometimes try to take a picture, but as of yet they haven’t been very cooperative. 

The sign of the day wouldn’t have passed the site’s censorship standards, so no picture. But since I’ve teased you now, I’ll share some more details.  I’m riding down a country road with virtually no traffic. Up ahead I see a house with a very large American flag flying out back. As I got closer, I could see that yes in fact it was red, white, and blue. But there were no stars and no stripes, just big bold letters that spelled out F#*k Biden.  I’m not agreeing with or questioning their politics, just wondering if all decorum and respect for others (e.g., the office of the POTUS, people driving by with their kids as examples) has totally gone out the window?

I’ve shared a number of photos and stories about other cyclists I’ve met along the way.  Sure we’re all members of the same mutual respect and admiration club. But we also share valuable information about the paths we’ve traveled. One rider shared with me some information about a bridge being closed but passable by cyclists. If he hadn’t shared that information, I would have obeyed the sign, followed the detour and added a bunch more miles to an already long and hot day.   Another rider gave me some insights into a possible path around eastern Kentucky in case the roads aren’t open. Lots more sharing but those are just two good examples. 

I was fortunate enough to find a barn of the day, so a picture is attached. 

Depending upon how tomorrow goes, I may be camping at a winery. Being obnoxious as I am, I asked if they had a shower 😳. He responded yes an open air shower, but it didn’t have a curtain. Being modest, my response was that the shower was key, the curtain is optional 😉. Seriously another kind soul out there who lets cyclists freely camp on his property. Actually he even offered up that if I bring food, I can use the grill!

I think that’s it for today.  Bye for now 

Ian

Corn fields to the right of me and then to the left and then the right…you get the picture.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Other memories of Kansas… a field, a barb wire fence with a crooked wood post, and of course a little pumper.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the bridge that I knew to cross even though it said closed…I’m such a rule breaker. Thanks to the cyclist I met going east to west, I knew it was ok to cross the bridge.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Barn of the day. Could be the last Kansas barn I share…who knows.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 100 miles (161 km)
Total: 1,813 miles (2,918 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Michele GordonI am super thrilled that you are soon to finish biking through Kansas ….demanding rides day after day ……it’s exhausting to hear about let alone actually ride 😳
Soooooo long Kansas it’s been real πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jim Meadowsβ€œeven a blind squirrel finds an acorn every now and again”….
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Reply to this comment
1 year ago