Happy and Sad 4th of July - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2022

Happy and Sad 4th of July

Packing up with a plan for coming back.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dave from Switzerland riding solo down the coast
Heart 1 Comment 0
My new favorite road sign (sorry for the vulgarity but I didn’t write it)
Heart 4 Comment 0
Real Willimina people celebrating our great country.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wade the Warm Shower guy from Dallas,OR
Heart 2 Comment 0

Dan left early this morning to quarantine and get better. Thanks to Mrs G for shuttling him to Portland. And thanks to John and Adam for hosting and helping Dan. 

My first day of solo riding went ok. It was a bit longer than planned but that was due to a self-imposed detour to Bare Farm (missed Sage again) and a misreading of the directions. 

The climb out of Neskowin began with Kitty Preston joining me for a few miles. Who is Kitty - a retired William and Mary professor who was out riding before the town parade.  Then I had to stop to take a picture of my new favorite road sign. The highlight of the day was meeting Milan and Linda at the Willimina 4th of July celebration.  Last new friend is Wade I met Wade on the bike path to Monmouth. He’s an experienced bicycle tourer and a Warm Shower host.   

One really cool thing is that the route is so well established. People just randomly wanted to chat about my ride and share stories about other riders and or tours that have come through over the years. 

Ok, that’s it for the day. Hope it’s not too boring for you. It’s exciting for me!

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 4,392 miles (7,068 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0