Everyday I Am Humbled By The Kindness of Strangers - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2022

Everyday I Am Humbled By The Kindness of Strangers

Jeff and LuAnn my Guardian Angels who saved me during the biblical storm.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The pea soup green machine on its final visit to the Continental Divide on this trip. Sign of the day winner.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Educational opportunity about why a pass in Colorado is called Hoosier
Heart 2 Comment 0
Views from the top of the Hoosier Pass
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another view from the top of the Hoosier Pass
Heart 5 Comment 0
Really liked this view. Can’t remember exactly where but definitely on the way to Guffey…I think after Hartsell
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view coming down the Hoosier Pass that needs to be painted by someone
Heart 3 Comment 0
A little Alma education. Pretty sign too but the Hoosier Pass wins sign of the day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The General Store in Alma. It was really old school inside. It was like going back into the 1800’s
Heart 1 Comment 0
Only in Alma 😉
Heart 6 Comment 0
Part of old town FairPlay. Everyone needs a distillery.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A tribute to FairPlay Alma the donkey.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Quan and Victor two more TransAm riders going east to west
Heart 3 Comment 0
Barn of the day…they just keep coming.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The plan was to start the day in Breckinridge, CO and end the day in Guffey, CO. The start worked out as planned, but not the finish. I did go to Guffey and I stopped at the bakery (awesome coffee cake…so awesome I bought two pieces… more on that in a moment), but then I continued on. The new plan was to go about 30 miles more to Canon. A couple decent climbs and then long, long really fast downhills. Everything was going fast and smooth, but Thor (remember him the Norse god of weather) stepped in.  The sky just opened up and the rain came down fast and furiously. The wind was howling, there was thunder and lightning and flash flooding. And there was absolutely no place for a cyclist (that would be me) to take cover. I tried to keep riding on, but finally accepted the fact that it was too dangerous. So I pulled to the side of the road with absolutely no plan. And then this guy in a huge RV that was stopped and waiting out the storm waived to me to get in the RV. Jeff an LuAnn gave me towels and water and let me shelter in their RV for over a half hour until the storm passed. They even offered me dry clothes and suggested a place I could stay for the night. Clearly they didn’t have to take me in, but they did. All I had to offer them as a thank you was that second piece of amazing coffee cake (see there was a reason I didn’t eat it, I just didn’t know why).  Thanks Jeff and LuAnn and I hope you enjoy Breckinridge. 

After breakfast (bad chocolate chip pancakes) it was off to climb the Hoosier Pass (11,539 elevation) and cross the Continental Divide for the final time. Another wonderful climb on a  windy road with varying degrees of steepness. The views from the top and on the descent were great and I’ll share some. One of the pictures just needs someone to paint it. 

Two very neat little towns, Alma and FairPlay were next on the route. I meandered through the towns and have some pictures to share. Quick shout out to the pizza place in Hartsel (the other small town I visited). Back to Guffey for a moment…who thought it was a good idea to have a really steep one mile climb to get to Guffey?  I almost turned around twice but wanted to get to The Bakery at Strictly Guffey (and we’ve learned there was a reason i needed to stop there and buy coffee cake).  

Now working on drying out my clothes for tomorrow’s ride to Pueblo, CO and then a day off. 

Bye for now

Almost forgot, I met Quan and Victor, two guys riding from east to west on the TransAm Route. We all stopped for a bit and had a good conversation and exchanged contact info in case we could help each other with route ideas/issues. 

Ian

Today's ride: 92 miles (148 km)
Total: 2,501 miles (4,025 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Michele GordonThank you Jeff and Luanne …..such sweethearts much appreciated ❤️❤️

Three crazy climbs and just shy of a 100 …..and a good soaking to end the day …..you crazy boy 😍
Enjoy your little cabin and get some shut eye 😘😘
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsIt had occurred to me on several occasions during my trip that "unfortunate" weather conditions could present a serious hazard, at and near the tops of mountain passes or on the vast, open exposed stretches. Risk of hypothermia, lightning strikes, etc... so I'm glad you found a haven in your own personal moment of need.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gary Nutt92 miles!! With climbs!!! You need to get a new pace car. Seriously, don't hurt yourself.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago