Climbing the McKenzie Pass - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2022

Climbing the McKenzie Pass

The halfway point. Time for a quick refueling
Heart 1 Comment 0
Proof for Max that it happened.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Max GordonWhat a view! Looks like it was a little bright out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The observatory at the top
Heart 5 Comment 0
The top! I made it! Was it ever in doubt…naaaah 😉
Heart 8 Comment 0
You just don’t see this view every day now do you?
Heart 10 Comment 1
Enid MeadowsWhat an amazing view! I absolutely love this picture! Thanks, Bro!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

John and Adam…thanks for not telling me too much or I might have called an Uber. 

Seriously wow, so much fun riding through a forest. I do so miss the green trees. It was long and steep and when I got to the top it wasn’t as rewarding as I had hoped due to fog and cloud cover. But it was a hill that needed to be climbed. 

Met Dan in Sisters, OR and we’re camping here for two days.  First official test day. Visiting the bakeries and the laundromat as we gear up for the next day 7 days of riding. 

Thanks for reading and being patient as I got behind. 

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 4,200 miles (6,759 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Julie MeyerIt is such a beautiful ride thru there, whether on a bicycle or a motorcycle 😛. Stay safe and tell Dan we are glad he is back in the saddle.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gary NuttGood to see a report from you, I was getting a little worried about where you were, and if you were OK (but I did not bug Michele about it). Factoid about Sisters: one of the most renown acoustic guitar maker's in the country has a shop is in Sister. His name is Preston Thompson (he passed a few years ago, but his crew continues to build Thompson guitars). Are you headed toward US 26? As a child, I lived in eastern Oregon; our almost annual vacation was to drive down 26 to Prineville, then over to the coast via Sisters and McKenzie pass. Great memories. I am rambling, but maybe it takes your mind off of the task at hand for a few minutes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mo SchaeferI’m exhausted just hearing about ur adventure & want one of those bran muffins. Gotta keep “regular.”
Reply to this comment
1 year ago