Are You Smarter Than A Cow? - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2022

Are You Smarter Than A Cow?

Just spent another long day in the sun riding through Kentucky. Lots of time to enjoy the scenery, to solve the world’s problems, and to contemplate arcane questions.  One question that keeps running through my head is…who is smarter- the cows or me. Without any research other than observation, I keep coming to the same conclusion…the cows win.  My logic is as follows:  It’s been really hot, humid, and sunny - Ian cycles, is hot, sweaty, and sunburned, while the cows find shade to hang out in.  When tired - Ian keeps cycling in the hot sun and seems to make each day longer than the previous, while the cows can be found lying down in the shade (not running around). When hungry - Ian stops cycling for a few minutes and eats unhealthy processed food often purchased at a gas station, while the cows eat a healthy meal in reasonable quantities (and don’t overdose on Gatorade). So I think you’d agree, cows win.  If you’re like me, you probably think cows aren’t very bright animals (doesn’t say much for me seeing as they won the contest) here’s a link to some research that might surprise you. https://petkeen.com/how-intelligent-are-cows/

Those of you who know me well probably concluded when you read yesterday’s blog that the bail out option was not really an option. I did think about it for a minute or two while I was riding up Jack Turner (that is the road where I would have stopped for the day had I taken the bail out).  But in the end, I was feeling pretty good and what’s another 20-25 miles. Plus it makes tomorrow’s ride shorter and sets me up perfectly for Saturday’s ride to Hazard through the damaged sections (see previous blog pictures) and the dog chases. 

Speaking of dog chases…only 3 today. Two were short sprints and over quickly. The third one was a long sprint. I looked down at my Garmin, I was doing almost 17 mph and that dog was hanging with me.  I think it was a good quarter mile before it dropped off. Fortunately it wasn’t interested in eating me just chasing me. Hoping that’s what happens Saturday, but I’m planning for the worst and hoping the dogs are busy doing something elsewhere when I come through their town. 

Another limited picture day. Honestly the scenery hasn’t changed much. It’s beautiful and as I said yesterday, really green. 

The day ended in Berea, KY a college town. After Breckinridge, CO and Sisters, OR this is probably the nicest town I’ve ridden to/through. Overall the ride was 92 miles with about 5.5k feet of climbing. No major climbs but I guess it just all added up.  Along the way, resources were again not great. At least one of my planned stops wasn’t viable because the store was out of business. One of my go to stops (yup you guessed it…a gas station) didn’t even have   chicken strips. Fortunately I had ordered an extra breakfast sandwich yesterday and was able to make that lunch today along with a packet of HoHos.  

Thinking back over the day to find a human interest story to share. The best I can do is tell you that the drivers were pretty good again. No wait, I didn’t share my Sherry story yesterday. 

Given the combination of the remoteness of eastern Kentucky and the damage some of the counties suffered from the floods, finding a place to camp or stay is pretty challenging. Without going into too much detail, I was really struggling to find a place on Map 130 (Buckhorn to Hazard). The campsites, hotels/motels/B&Bs (if they’re open) are serving the displaced families or the volunteers. Sherry runs a B&B but had no availability. I texted her that I was desperate and was wondering if I could just camp on her lawn. She replied immediately that she had a volunteer couple staying in an apartment she owns and they had unexpectedly had to leave, and that I could stay for the night if I wanted. Of course I said absolutely. The amazing part is that Sherry doesn’t want any money or anything…she was just happy to help. Once again, just another kind person who is fulfilled by simply helping others. 

Ok done for the day…shower time. 

Ian

My selection of barn of the day
Heart 5 Comment 0
I really liked this barn because of the American Flag
Heart 7 Comment 0
Looking east from Berea, I think we’re looking at the area I’ll be climbing through in the next few days. 😳
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 92 miles (148 km)
Total: 995 miles (1,601 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Michele GordonObviously you are sport for these fast running pooches ….may their interest be short lived of the pea soup green machine and it’s rider 😉

Your ride is so amazing but equally is the growing list of kindness received from so many folks along the way 🌻

Keep those stories coming love ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Julie MeyerSo amazing to be part of the journey via your blog. Stay safe my friend.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago