Anyone Want to Play Pac-Man? - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2022

Anyone Want to Play Pac-Man?

Yeah, I realize if I rode just 1 more mile it would have been a 100 mile day. I was tired and would have had to cross into Kentucky on the ferry. And the ferry is part of tomorrow’s adventure. 

My plan for today was to ride my bike not to play Pac-Man, but obviously the designers of today’s route thought playing Pac-Man would be more fun. I swear I made more turns in the first 20 miles of today’s ride than I did the whole trip through Kansas. 

Today was also a good practice day for evading dogs. I lost count but I think 5 dogs came after me today. Most of them were barking and their chase was pretty obvious. But this one dog was totally stealth and almost caught me. Tomorrow I’m going to buy new sunscreen because the stuff I am using must have a steak smell or something attractive to the dog community. 

Today was what I would call a work day.   It wasn’t too hot, I think it peaked at 86-87 degrees, but it was sunny and humid. I’m not complaining because I thought the forecast called for lots of rain (and it didn’t rain).  The goal was to get to Cave-in-Rock. 98 miles and almost 5,800 feet of climbing, so I just pedaled. Very few and not so well placed food and drink stops. And no pictures…sorry. Well two picture when I got to the Ohio River.  The good news, I made it!  The better news, tomorrow is an easier day. 

Cave in Rock…

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cave-In-Rock,_Illinois

Interesting history so I inserted the link for you to the ultimate authority on everything…Wikipedia 😳

I’m adding two pictures of the Ohio River. I’ll try (that’s a try not a promise) to take more tomorrow. 

Ian

Middle of the day looking down the river and across to Kentucky
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sunset on the Ohio River
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 99 miles (159 km)
Total: 1,313 miles (2,113 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Max GordonOnly a few more states left!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsI read the history section of the Wikipedia article several months ago. Having grown up in Illinois, it was no surprise to see that there's a long history of lawlessness in the state...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago