Another One Bites The Dust… - Powered by the Pedals - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2022

Another One Bites The Dust…

At 10:45 am, me and the pea soup green machine crossed the Mississippi River at the Chester, Illinois bridge. It was a pretty anticlimactic event because the bridge was under construction (down to a single lane) and I couldn’t stop to take pictures, plus the water level seemed really low.  Oh well, I guess I’ll try and get pictures on the return trip (only kidding Mrs G). 

Today was a fun day of riding. I was riding once again on pancake power and just enjoying my last miles in Missouri and my first 40 or so miles in Illinois.  Missouri sent me off with a nice long flat stretch, but not until after she threw a few more 10-13% (maximum) grade climbs my way. And Illinois eventually got friendly, but it started with a 12% (maximum) grade climb into downtown Chester. The weather was pretty good. I think the temperature peaked at about 90 degrees, but it was humid (more so as I neared the river).  

Had to deal with small shoulders with rumble strips and no shoulders again.  Since I’ve whined about the rumble strips and the shoulders a number of times, I took a picture to share with you so at least you’ll know I’m not making this stuff up.  In Illinois there was a 10 plus mile stretch of recently chip sealed road (never fun).  And to my continued surprise, it seemed again as though most of the drivers got and read the memo about sharing the road with bicycles. So all in all, a good, safe day of riding. 

I learned some new things today. First and maybe most surprising was that there are tigers in Missouri.  And I’m not talking about Truman the Tiger…anyone know who that is?  There is a big, open to the public tiger sanctuary in Sainte Genevieve,MO called the Crown Ridge Tiger Sanctuary.  Next I learned that Popeye’s home town was Chester, IL.  And the whole town is obsessed with Popeye, Wimpy, Olive Oil, and the rest of the gang. There is even a Popeye museum.  Who knew?  And finally, I learned what to do with a truck if it’s old and just won’t run anymore. Spoiler alert…nah, it’s in the picture section. Wait, I also learned that while using the f-word in public is still bad, it’s acceptable to write it out on a flag/banner and fly it proudly (assuming your HOA is ok with it).  And no I’m not going there…

There is one more thing that I’ve come to realize, the actual riding is the easy part of the adventure. The logistics of where to get food and water and where to stay is the hard stuff. Seems to change daily based on what’s really open and closed, the weather, how I’m feeling, who answers their phone, and so much more. I am extremely thankful for the ACA maps. Definitely something to be said for doing a supported ride…but I guess it’s all just part of the adventure. 

I have become a connoisseur of gas station food and obviously pancakes on this trip. So anytime I can get a good meal, I jump at it. Someone sent me to 17th Street BBQ for dinner. Having lived in North Carolina for 7 years, I fancy myself  a bit of a barbecue snob. So my expectations were not very high…and I was sooooo wrong!  This place was the real deal and they have the awards to prove it. And no not just the best BBQ in Murphysboro awards. I’m talking national competitions and the founder is in the BBQ Hall of Fame (I’m sure you all have visited that place at least twice…the HoF I mean). 

There is a sign of the day and a barn (last one from Missouri). There are some scenery pictures and of course there’s Popeye. 

Enjoy…not sure what tomorrow is going to bring, except rain!

Ian

Some final views of Missouri…and ones that don’t include the rolling hills
Heart 5 Comment 0
Last views of Missouri before the Mississippi River flat lands.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Last views of Missouri before the Mississippi River flat lands
Heart 3 Comment 0
Last views of Missouri before the Mississippi River flat lands.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Popeye had his spinach and Oshi has his pancakes
Heart 8 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThe Popeye character- and I think most of the others from the strip- is actually based on a real person.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A little Popeye history.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Thinking this needs to be the sign of the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
My last barn picture from Missouri.
Heart 6 Comment 0
So this is what you’re supposed to do with your truck when it won’t run anymore. Definitely creative…
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here’s proof that there are rivers or a least a tiger sanctuary in Missouri.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hers an example of the shoulder and the rumble strips I’ve been whining about.
Heart 0 Comment 1

Today's ride: 88 miles (142 km)
Total: 1,401 miles (2,255 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith AdamsI lived in Murphysboro for a year or so back in the late 1980s. Wish I'd known about the BBQ joint then; of course it may not have been there at that time.

There's a Buckminster Fuller geodesic dome house in Carbondale, if you're interested in a small diversion. And the SIU-C campus is worth a visit. Say Hi to the walk-up Dairy Queen for me if you pass by. I spent many a summer evening on the curb there, watching the world pass by as I enjoyed a soft serve ice cream topped with hot fudge.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Michele GordonI know Missouri was a real challenge at times but it sure looks like it was hard to select that last photo as you were leaving the state ….sure are some pretty views …..thanks for sharing ❤️

Wow better bbq than NC …..who knew ?😳
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Shelby ScovelI finally realized what the other ACA means, lol
Reply to this comment
1 year ago