Day Six: Day off at the Kickback Ranch - Deep South - CycleBlaze

April 24, 2021

Day Six: Day off at the Kickback Ranch

As predicted, it rained and stormed on and off all day today, so I stayed in the cabin and tried to catch up on some work. There were brief periods of sunshine, but until late afternoon they were too short to allow me to walk the mile to the Marathon gas station down the road for supplies without getting drenched.

I thought I'd have the large "ranch" to myself today, but in the afternoon a horde of little girls arrived for a birthday party. The rowdy girls ran and screamed past my cabin long into the night. Once when a storm passed through in the afternoon, I hoped that would subdue them, but instead they ran and screamed in the downpour, screaming especially loudly when the thunder boomed.

Around 10 PM as I lay sleepless, trying to muffle their noise with the air conditioner, ceiling fan, the "waves" sound on my phone, and a pillow over my head, I regretted not stealth camping behind one of the many abandoned churches I'd seen on the ride yesterday.

They apparently tired out at 11:00, and I was able to fall asleep. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0