A Fonsagrada to Lugo - Toulouse to Porto 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2019

A Fonsagrada to Lugo

Half of the team down.

Some hills. Some down.
Heart 0 Comment 0

 WhenI woke up this morning I knew that things just weren’t right.  I have been battling a cold the whole trip, and so far have managed to keep ahead of it.  Until today.

The bike felt particularly heavy all day today, and every time I saw even the smallest of hills, I swore under my breath.  Cycling sick is not fun.  Cycling frustrated at every undulation in the road and being sick is even worse.

So, Sue was patient as I slowly tackled the hills today. And, I managed to limp into Lugo running on fumes.

Apart from not feeling well, it was another stellar day of blue skies and green lush hills.  Unfortunately, there are not many photos today.

When we arrived in Lugo, we discovered that the only campsite was a bit of a dump and a ways outside of town, and really only catered to the RV and campervan crowd.  It also had no amenities like a restaurant or little shop.  The quick fix?  A great hotel inside the old town walls.   So.  That was Lugo.

This morning, however, I woke before the sunrise and watched the marine fog spill into the valley beside our campground.  The way it flowed over the hills and filled up the basin was mesmerizing.  Here are a few pics.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 1,028 km (638 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0